Niagara Honor Roll / - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll /

The Niagara Area Foundation elected its 2014 council members and officers. The council includes representatives from across Niagara County.

Officers are: chairwoman, Elizabeth “Betsy” Diachun; vice chairwoman, Nancy Orsi; second vice chairwoman, Melissa Morinello; treasurer, Vincent J. Davis; and secretary, Janice Flood Nichols.

Diachun, a Niagara County resident for more than 50 years, has been a council member since its inception in 2000. She has served on several nonprofit boards and community-based committees including Planned Parenthood, Niagara Area Habitat for Humanity and Niagara Beautification Commission.

Orsi, of Youngstown, is a community leader and retired principal of Fricano Primary School in the Starpoint Central School District. She has served as a board member for the Town of Porter and has been a long-time member of the Niagara Area Foundation Council.

Morinello is a resident of Niagara Falls who has a background in marketing/communications. Currently, she is an entrepreneur and the owner of Sparkle! Marketing and Events.

Davis, of Lockport, is a treasury management consultant for M&T Bank. He is currently the chairman of the governors board of regents for the Kenan Center in Lockport.

Nichols, of Lockport, is a medical counselor from the University of Pittsburgh. She has devoted her professional life to the care of the physically disabled and to the eradication of polio as a vaccine advocate. She is the author of several books, texts and articles in the health-related field.

Newly appointed council members are: Mary Ann Oliver and Patricia George.

Oliver, of Niagara Falls, is managing attorney at Neighborhood Legal Services Niagara County office. She has been dedicated to providing legal services to Niagara County’s low-income residents for 25 years.

She is a board member and officer of Family & Children’s Services of Niagara and a former board member and officer of the Main Street Professional and Business Association.

George, of Lockport, is a prior Niagara Area Foundation council member, who returns to the council this year. An attorney in Lockport, she specializes in elder law, estates/estate planning and real estate law. She is also the president of the board of commissioners for the Lockport Cable Commission and serves on the boards at the YWCA of the Tonawandas and the United Way of Greater Niagara.


There are no comments - be the first to comment