• Published

NEWFANE – Voters on Tuesday supported converting the Newfane Free Library into a public school district library by a vote of 507 to 385.

The vote establishes a dedicated annual budget of $125,000 for the operation of the library, which will be collected through a special school library tax of 27 cents per $1,000 of assessed valuation. The Newfane School District only determines the library’s service area, collects the tax and turns it over to the library.

In addition, the library’s board of trustees, previously appointed, is now elected. Elected on Tuesday to staggered terms were: Micki Kramp with 581 votes; Carolyn Larkin, with 554; Sheila Eadie, with 551; Patricia Schultz, with 525; Marlene Currie, with 517; Terri Iannucci, with 502; and Janet Steggles with 496 votes. All were incumbents.

Click here to see the comments. Add yours now!