Cattaraugus County school budget vote results - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Cattaraugus County school budget vote results

Proposed school budgets were approved in voting Tuesday across Cattaraugus County.

In Salamanca, where taxpayers were looking at a nearly 30 percent tax levy decrease, voters approved the $27,572,466 spending plan with 83 percent of the vote. Theresa Ray and Zachary Tucker will serve five-year terms on the board as well, garnering 185 and 169 votes, respectively.

The Olean district, asking voters to approve a $38,819,645 spending plan with a 1.9 percent levy increase, got that approval with 284 votes to 100. Ira Katzenstein and Frank Steffan, Jr. garnered 305 and 293 votes, respectively, to serve on the school board. Terry Schnell and Patricia Aiello each garnered one write-in vote.

The Gowanda district voted 293 to 81 to accept the $28,208,720 spending plan for the 2014-2015 school year. Proposition 2, a measure to purchase vehicles from reserve finds, also was approved by voters, 297 to 69. Peter Delpriore earned 326 votes, and Mary Stratton earned 278 for seats on the Board of Education.

In Cattaraugus-Little Valley, the $24.8 million operating plan was approved by district voters, increasing the spending by about 1.98 percent.

The Randolph Central School District put up a spending plan of $19,273,650, an increase over the current plan by almost three percent. With a sixth year of zero-percent tax increase, the voters approved the plan, 223 to 37. To fill the vacant seat on the school board, Marshall Johnson and Louise Boutwell won the race with 228 and 213 .

Allegany-Limestone Central School District asked taxpayers for a 1.8 percent increase in operations spending, to $22,095,470, with a tax levy increase of 0.42 percent. That plan was approved 183 to 48. Susan Schifley retained her seat on the School Board, running unopposed.

The Portville School District approved their spending plan of $16.44 million by a 383-to-145 margin. A proposed purchase of a school bus passed, 377 to 151. A second attempt to get a $6 million capital project that was defeated in December, passed by a 340-to-185 margin. Doug Doty and West Long each won five-year terms on the board, garnering 462 votes and 135, respectively.

In Hinsdale, Superintendent Lawrence Ljungberg proposed a 1.23 percent budget increase. Voters approved the plan and its 0.26 percent decrease in taxes by 81 to 35 vote, with John Fitzpatrick being re-elected on the Board of Evacuation.

Ellicottville asked for just over $11 million to operate in the coming school year and voters used a 185 to 159 vote to approve the plan. Ellicottville will also have Nicole Klein and Michelle Cortez serving on the school board for five years.

Franklinville voted to approve a $18,773,844 spending plan, 180 to 104. Also passing were the school bus proposition, 165-to-119, and increasing support to the local library by $500, 185-to-100. Ben Stoll received 210 votes, and John Janora received 230 to join the Board of Education.

West Valley decreased the budget by almost $70,000 to $8,719,882, or 0.8 percent. Voters approved the measure, as well as the purchase of a new school bus.

The Pioneer School District asked its voters for a 2.03 percent increase in operations to $49,404,750, supported, in part, by a 0.71 percent increase in the tax levy. The plan was approved, 433 to 147. Jimmy Yansick and Darla Schwab won five-year terms with 491 and 415 votes, respectively.

There are no comments - be the first to comment