Griffs sweep MAAC awards - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Griffs sweep MAAC awards

The Canisius baseball team made a clean sweep of the major postseason honors at the MAAC awards banquet held in Monmouth, N.J., Tuesday.

Connor Panas was named the MAAC Player of the Year and Rohn Pierce (Newfane) was the MAAC Pitcher of the Year. Both are juniors. Panas led the conference in homers (six) and runs batted in (48). Pierce has a 10-2 record with a 2.03 ERA.

The Griffs’ coach of 10 years, Mike McRae, earned Coach of the Year for the fourth time. He was also cited in 2010 and 2008 as well as in 2003 while at Niagara.

Eight Griffs made all-conference first team including: Panas, Pierce, Ronnie Bernick, Alex Godzak, Anthony Massicci and Brett Siddall. Chris Conley and Jesse Puscheck were second team. The eight picks are the most in program history.

The top-seeded Golden Griffins, 38-14, will begin play in the MAAC Tournament in Lakewood, N.J., tonight at 7 against the winner with the lowest seed from the two earlier games (No. 3 Fairfield vs. No. 6 Manhattan and No. 4 Quinnipiac vs. No. 5 Monmouth).

• Matt Pollock and Tyler Mautner of the University at Buffalo were named to the All-Mid-American Conference baseball first team. Pollock batted .369 in the conference and scored 27 runs. He needs four hits in the upcoming MAC Tournament to become the fifth player in UB history to reach 200 in a career. The No. 6-seeded Bulls play East Division champion Miami (Ohio) today in the first round.

There are no comments - be the first to comment