Shea’s Performing Arts Center and the Lipke foundation presented the 21st Annual Kenny Awards Ceremony, Saturday, May 10, 2014. It celebrates the talent of local high school theater programs. Applications for the program are accepted in the fall and from there, seven finalists are chosen. Judges view theater productions from all seven schools. At the awards ceremony, the finalist schools performed numbers from their production. Afterward, 15 different aware were presented. Orchard Park High School performs numbers from Les Miserables. (Sharon Cantillon/Buffalo News)
  • Published

Area high school theater students were recognized for their talent and dedication at the 21st annual Kenny Awards on Saturday at Shea’s Performing Arts Center.

The winners are:

Outstanding Production: Orchard Park High School, “Les Misérables”

Rising Star: Ayden Herreid, Orchard Park, “Les Misérables”

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Andrew Pszonak, Eden, “The Wedding Singer”

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Michaela Tramuta, Fredonia, “Bye Bye Birdie”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Nathaniel Feldman, Orchard Park, “Les Misérables”

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Kayla Storto, Orchard Park, “Les Misérables”

Best Performance by an Ensemble: Graciela Rey, Claire O’Brien, Shelby Przybysz, Jordyn Wawro and Emma Storm, Fredonia, “Bye Bye Birdie”

Best Orchestral Performance: Orchard Park, “Les Misérables”

Best Technical Design: Maple Grove, “Grease”

Best Choral Performance: West Seneca, “Godspell”

Best Scenic Design: Fredonia, “Bye Bye Birdie”

Best Dramatic Performance: Maple Grove, “Grease”

Best Costume Design: Fredonia, “Bye Bye Birdie”

Best Dance Performance: Eden, “The Wedding Singer”

The Blossom Cohan Award (which honors a performer who “blossoms” in a role): Alyssa Cirrito, North Tonawanda, “9 to 5: the Musical”

The theater department at Orchard Park High School will receive a $5,000 grant from the Lipke Foundation.


On the Web: See a gallery of photos from the Kenny Awards at

Click here to see the comments. Add yours now!