Sierra Club presents annual awards - The Buffalo News
print logo

Sierra Club presents annual awards

The Sierra Club’s Niagara Group presented its annual awards Thursday afternoon in Amherst. The event was held at My Tomato Pie, 3505 Sheridan Drive in the Northtown Plaza.

Included at the awards dinner were a presentation of the Sierra Club’s Wind Energy Campaign, “Turn, Don’t Burn” by Jenn Tuttle, organizer of the Beyond Coal Campaign.

The presentation highlighted wind and renewable energy investment.

Two awards were given by the organization for “outstanding contributions” to the group’s “shared goals of environmental protection and ecological/social justice.”

ArtVoice Editor Geoff Kelly received the Blake Reeves Award, which is given in honor of the founder of the Niagara Group of the Sierra Club. The award “recognizes an organizational effort to further environmental causes such as clean water, renewable energy, and climate justice.”

The other award winner is Jay Burney, who has worked “to protect the heritage” of Buffalo Niagara. Officials said he was given the 2014 Bruce Kershner Award for individual stewardship. Sierra Club officials said Burney played a “key role” in protecting Times Beach in Buffalo along with his Learning Sustainability Campaign and other important environmental advocacy endeavors.

There are no comments - be the first to comment