• Published

The National Alliance on Mental Illness in Buffalo & Erie County held its 30th Anniversary Dinner and Awards Celebration Thursday evening at Sean Patrick’s Restaurant in Getzville.

Buffalo News Reporter Matthew Spina received the Nancy D. Smith Award for his articles about police interaction with people who are mentally ill.

Dr. Herman Syzmanski, a psychiatrist, was honored with the Peter L. Heggs Award for his compassion in treating people who are mentally ill.

The Volunteer of the Year Award went to Ann Venuto, a psychiatric nurse practitioner who runs a support group for the association.

The President’s Award was given to Cheektowaga Police Chief David Zack, who formed the first crisis intervention program in the Buffalo area.

Click here to see the comments. Add yours now!