Farmers eligible for disaster loans - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Farmers eligible for disaster loans

The cold and snowy winter have made Chautauqua, Cattaraugus and Erie Counties eligible for Farm Service Agency disaster emergency loan assistance.

For the three counties, the eligibility is for damages and losses caused by freeze which occurred beginning December 1, 2013.

Additionally, Cattaraugus and Erie counties have been declared eligible for disaster loan assistance due to a blizzard that occurred from January 6-10.

Family farmers who have lost at least 30 percent their production due to the freeze or blizzard may be eligible for FSA loans. Claims must be backed with documented records. And proceeds from crop insurance and any FSA programs are factored in when determining eligibility for physical and/or production losses.

Application for loans will be accepted until November 26 for production losses due to freeze and until November 6 for physical losses due to the blizzard. The FSA office is located at 220 Fluvanna Ave., Suite 600, Jamestown. For more information, call 664-2351, Ext. 2.

There are no comments - be the first to comment