Baron named to All-District II team - The Buffalo News
print logo

Baron named to All-District II team

Billy Baron of Canisius added another honor to his collection Tuesday when he was named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-District II team.

The Griffs’ senior guard was named Pepsi Player of the Year last week in the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference and was a unanimous first team All-MAAC selection as well as making the All-MAAC Tournament team. He is also a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award, given to the nation’s top Division I point guard.

Baron currently ranks fourth in the nation with a 24.2 scoring average and is in the top 20 nationally in 10 different statistical categories

C.J. Fair of Syracuse was named District II Player of the Year and Jay Wright of Villanova was honored as Coach of the Year.

A player and coach of the year was selected by voting of USBWA members for each of nine geographic districts. District II is made up of all NCAA Division I schools in New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Pennsylvania and West Virginia.

Besides Baron, the others on the All-District II team are: Fair and Tyler Ennis of Syracuse, Jason Brickman of LIU-Brooklyn, D’Angelo Harrison of St. John’s, James Bell and JayVaughn Pinkston of Villanova and Eron Harris and Juwan Staten of West Virginia.

Elsewhere, Shannon Evans of the University at Buffalo was runner-up to Zavier Turner of Ball State as Freshman of the Year in the Mid-American Conference. Turner received 18 votes from a 25-member MAC News Media Panel while Evans received five.

The MAC will announce its Player of the Year and Coach of the Year today. UB’s Javon McCrea is a leading contender for Player-of-the-Year honors.

The Bulls will also find out their opponent tonight for Thursday’s Mid-American Conference quarterfinals in Cleveland. Eastern Michigan (19-13) will face Northern Illinois (15-16) at 9 p.m. (TWCS). UB beat Northern Illinois twice and Eastern Michigan once this season.

There are no comments - be the first to comment