News cartoonist Adam Zyglis wins National Press Foundation award - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

News cartoonist Adam Zyglis wins National Press Foundation award

Buffalo News staff cartoonist Adam Zyglis has earned a major award in the editorial cartooning world.

Zyglis, a 31-year-old Buffalo native and Canisius College graduate, will receive the National Press Foundation’s prestigious Clifford K. and James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartooning on Wednesday at the Washington Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C.

“It’s an incredible honor to be recognized on a national level and join the ranks of such extraordinary past recipients,” Zyglis said.

“Initially I thought the phone call from the National Press Foundation was a prank from a fellow cartoonist, and I was delighted to be wrong. It means a lot to play a small role in Buffalo’s great tradition of editorial cartooning.”

Zyglis began working at The News in August 2004, following the departure of editorial cartoonist Tom Toles, the 1990 Pulitzer Prize winner. Zyglis also follows in the footsteps of 1957 Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist Bruce Shanks.

Zyglis’ work has also been featured in the New York Times, Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post, and is syndicated internationally.

Zyglis typically draws four to five editorial cartoons every week, along with a caricature on the Sunday book page and an occasional cover illustration. He won third place for editorial cartoons in the National Headliner Awards, sponsored by the Atlantic City Press Club, in 2011 and 2007.

“I am incredibly impressed with his work. I think he’s one of the top cartoonists in the country,” said Steve Sack, the Minneapolis Star Tribune staff cartoonist who won the 2013 Pulitzer Prize for editorial cartooning. Sack also won the Berryman Award in 2006.

Sack praised Zyglis’ “intelligent” and “creative ideas combined with a “unique and effective” drawing style.

“Adam often looks at things in a way other commentators don’t. I’m a big fan of his work. From the very beginning, he displayed a talent that I knew would take him places,” Sack said.

Bob Meyers, president of the National Press Foundation, said the nonprofit organization’s awards that are given to journalists for accomplishment can be very competitive.

“There were some really good entries, but people just felt Adam nailed it,” Meyers said.

Others receiving journalism awards at the National Press Foundation luncheon are Robert Moore, editor of the El Paso Times; Wolf Blitzer, lead political anchor at CNN; Robert Siegel, senior host of NPR’s “All Things Considered”; Bloomberg News reporters Mark Drajem, a Buffalo native and graduate of St. Joseph’s Collegiate Institute, and Jack Kaskey; Gannett reporter Maureen Groppe; Washington Post reporter David A. Farnethold; the Boston Globe’s Washington bureau reporters and editors; and the website Syria Deeply.


There are no comments - be the first to comment