Niagara Honor Roll - The Buffalo News
print logo

Niagara Honor Roll

Niagara Catholic Junior-Senior High School juniors Mackenzie Lozina and Ryan Prawel participated in the Pathways to Careers Collaborative Program, sponsored by Mount St. Mary’s Hospital and Health Center, Niagara University and Niagara Catholic.

The program provides students an in-depth introduction to health and hospital occupations throughout their junior and senior years of high school. It integrates student learning experiences with on-site, research and skills-based education in a specific occupation.

Lozina worked under the direction of Jenevieve Nablo, director of nursing at Our Lady of Peace Skilled Nursing Facility. Prawel worked with Andy Schultz, director of rehabilitation and sports medicine at Mount St. Mary’s Hospital and Health Center. The semester-long program allowed the students to earn three college credit hours and participate in 60 hours of student service.


Air National Guard Airman 1st Class Daniel Defranco graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio.

He is the son of Russell Defranco of North Tonawanda and Lori Defranco of Pendleton. He is a 2012 graduate of Starpoint High School, Lockport.


The Niagara Military Affairs Council recently recognized nine regional leaders for successful completion of the organization’s Niagara Commanders Program. The graduation ceremony was held Jan. 30 in the Protocol Restaurant, Amherst.

Program participants included: Richard “Jay” Anderson, U.S. Navy Reserve; Bill Angus, Assemblyman John Ceretto’s office; Jennifer Cooper, Cooper Sign and Old Glory Flag; Andrea Costantino, University at Buffalo; Dan Ryan, University at Buffalo; Cheryl Samilio-Meyer, Buffalo Executives Association; Dale Snyder, Seneca Gaming; Bill Wagner, Wagner Management; and Robert Welch, North Tonawanda Mayor’s Office.

Participants completed a six-month program that included an arrangement of retreats, seminars and tours of regional military installations.


There are no comments - be the first to comment