Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers - The Buffalo News
print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Deborah and Rocco Surace will serve as chairmen for the 22nd annual Diamond Ball for Western and Central New York Chapter of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, which will be held Feb. 22 in Samuel’s Grande Manor.

Deborah Surace is a registered nurse at Eastern Niagara Hospital and Rocco Surace is a partner in his newly merged CPA firm, The Bonadio Group.

Norman Orlowski, president of Erie and Niagara Insurance Association, will be presented with the society’s Service to Mankind award in recognition of his leadership and dedication to advancing the mission of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society in curing leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma and Hodgkin’s disease, and improving the quality of life of patients and their families.


Erie County District Attorney Frank A. Sedita III and First Assistant District Attorney Michael J. Flaherty have been honored by two statewide organizations.

Sedita was named the state’s 2014 outstanding prosecutor by the Criminal Justice Section of the New York State Bar Association at the association’s annual meeting in New York City. He also was recognized as the state’s top prosecutor in 2006 by the District Attorneys Association of the State of New York.

Flaherty received the Morgenthau Award from the state’s District Attorneys Association at its winter conference last month in New York City. The award, named for former Manhattan District Attorney Robert M. Morgenthau, is presented annually to the prosecutor whose professional accomplishments best epitomize honesty, integrity and commitment to the fair and ethical administration of justice.


The Polish Arts Club of Buffalo awarded scholarships to Kyle Baran and Mary Jane Masiulionis at its annual installation luncheon of officers and board members at Gregor’s Garden Grove in West Seneca. Both are honor students at their universities.

Baran is a theater performance major at Niagara University. As an actor, he is involved with several college-level theater companies and has received many leading roles. At the Young Performers of America Conference, he received two awards for best vocal solo performance and best vocal duet performance.

Masiulionis is a graduate student at the University at Buffalo majoring in theater. A teacher for children’s theater groups, she has won several writing awards. She is an adjunct instructor for theater at SUNY Buffalo State.

Officers installed at the meeting were: president, Alfred Karney; second vice president, Elzbieta Grabowska. Board members elected are: Felix Klempka, Danuta Nycz-Nakamura and Anthony Rudnicki.


Dr. Joseph S. Modica, a dentist with a private practice in Williamsville, was recently installed as president of the Eighth District Dental Society. The society is a professional association consisting of dentists from the eight counties of Western New York.


Several area military personnel have graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Air National Guard Airman 1st Class Charles E. Shelvay Jr. is the husband of Lindsay and father of Noah. His parents are Monica L. and Charles Shelvay Sr. The airman is a 2009 graduate of McKinley High School in Buffalo.

Air Force Airman Jeffrey M. Nelson earned distinction as an honor graduate. He is the son of Karen Nelson of Derby. The airman is a 2010 graduate of Lake Shore High School, Angola.

Air Force Airman Thomas J. McCarthy IV is the son of Thomas McCarthy III of Buffalo. He is a 2012 graduate of West Seneca West Senior High School.

Air Force Airman 1st Class Sean J. Murphy is the son of Sean Murphy of Fredonia and grandson of James Murphy of Dunkirk. He is a 2010 graduate of Fredonia High School.

Air Force Airman 1st Class Michael J. Waclawski is the son of Ronald Waclawski and Rose Miller, both of Dunkirk. He is a 2009 graduate of Dunkirk High School. He earned an associate degree in 2012 from Jamestown Community College, Dunkirk.

Air Force Airman 1st Class Marc P. Remsen is the son of Deborah and Paul Remsen of Batavia. He is a 2012 graduate of Oakfield-Alabama Central School.

Air Force Reserve Airman 1st Class Adam C. Townsend is the son of Pamela Stroh of Grand Island and Michael Townsend of Lewiston. He is a 2011 graduate of Grand Island High School.

Air Force Airman Jeffery M. Close is the son of Timothy and Kimberly Close of Machias. He is a 2010 graduate of Pioneer Central High School, Yorkshire.

Air Force Airman Nicholas L. Santos is the son of Aixa and Jose Santos of Albion. He is a 2012 graduate of Albion High School.

Air Force Reserve Airman Raquel L. Densmore is the daughter of Rosanna Densmore of Warsaw, and sister of Chris Densmore of Batavia. She is a 2006 graduate of Le Roy High School. She earned a bachelor’s degree in 2010 from Alfred State College.

Air Force Airman 1st Class Hannah R. Durand earned distinction as an honor graduate. She is the daughter of Lisa and Michael Durand of Buffalo. The airman is a 2011 graduate of Hutchinson-Central Technical High School.

Airmen who complete basic training earn four credits toward an associate in applied science degree through the Community College of the Air Force.


D’Youville College sophomore MacKenzie Kehlenbeck was selected to be an Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference representative for the Student Athlete Advisory Committee at the NCAA Convention held in January in San Diego.

The advisory committee gives student-athletes a voice in the policymaking process of the NCAA. At the convention, the representatives reviewed and discussed how pending legislation will affect the welfare of the student-athlete and made recommendations to the voting delegates.

Kehlenbeck, a second-year member of the D’Youville Student Athlete Advisory Committee, is a resident assistant, member of the D’Youville Student Association, and an active participant in many community service initiatives on campus.

After representing at the NCAA Convention, the Spartans’ shortstop will begin softball practice. In her freshman year last spring Kehlenbeck was First-Team All-Conference, Conference Newcomer of the Year, and named D’Youville College Female Student-Athlete of the Year.

email: citydesk@buffnews.com

There are no comments - be the first to comment