Andre Reed makes it to Hall of Fame - The Buffalo News
print logo

Andre Reed makes it to Hall of Fame

The eighth time turned out to be the charm for Andre Reed.

The Buffalo Bills’ all-time receiving leader was elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame today in his eighth attempt to get to Canton, joining former teammates Jim Kelly, Thurman Thomas and Bruce Smith from Buffalo’s Super Bowl era teams (1990-93) in the Hall.

The class of 2014 also included Giants defensive end Michael Strahan, Oakland punter Ray Guy, defensive back Aeneas Williams, linebacker Derrick Brooks, offensive tackle Walter Jones and defensive end Claude Humphrey, who like Guy was a senior selection.

The announcement was made Saturday night at NFL Honors, less than 24 hours before the Denver Broncos meet the Seattle Seahawks in the first Super Bowl in a non-domed stadium in a cold-weather city.

Among the finalists who didn’t get in were two with ties to the Indianapolis Colts and current Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning — coach Tony Dungy and receiver Marvin Harrison.

Each of the incoming Hall of Famers walked to the stage and was announced individually. Strahan, who helped the Giants make two Super Bowls, got a huge cheer from the home crowd.

Induction will be on Aug. 1 in Canton, Ohio.

There are no comments - be the first to comment