New legislative leaders take over in Genesee County - The Buffalo News
print logo

New legislative leaders take over in Genesee County

BATAVIA – New presiding officers were elected unanimously by Genesee County’s two major governing bodies in separate ceremonies Wednesday after newly elected officials were sworn in.

Raymond F. Cianfrini, an Oakfield attorney, was chosen as chairman of the County Legislature. He follows Mary Pat Hancock of the Town of Batavia, who retired after serving on the Legislature for 22 years, 13 as chairwoman.

Brooks M. Hawley will head the City Council for the next two years. He takes over from James E. Buckley, who declined to seek another term as an at-large representative.

Cianfrini represents the towns of Alabama and Oakfield and has been on the legislature since 2007. He was re-elected last November. He also serves as chairman of the Legislature’s Public Services Committee.

Hawley is the son of Assemblyman Stephen M. Hawley, who has represented a Genesee-Orleans county district for several years. His grandfather, R. Stephen Hawley, served in the Assembly for 20 years. The younger Hawley is on the recreation staff at Geneseo State College.

Hawley was appointed to the council and then won a four-year term last November.

The council president is chosen by all nine members but must be elected citywide. The other newcomers, also Republicans, are Eugene A. Jankowski, a retired police lieutenant, and John Deleo, a retired corrections officer. They topped a rare nine-way race for the three positions.

The council’s six members who represent wards are midway through four-year terms.

Legislators at the county swearing-in ceremony included newcomers Andrew J. Young, who succeeds Hancock for the towns of Batavia and Stafford; and Gregg H. Torrey, who defeated Esther G. Leadley last November in the district of Alexander, Bethany and Pavilion. Marianne Clattenburg survived a three-way race as a city legislator.

Those who ran unopposed and the towns they represent are: Robert J. Bausch (Elba, Bergen and Byron), Annie M. Lawrence (Darien and Pembroke), Rochelle M. Stein (LeRoy), and Frank C. Ferrando and Edward DeJaneiro Jr. (Batavia).

There are no comments - be the first to comment