Krolock, Schneider are Turkey Trot champions - The Buffalo News
print logo

Krolock, Schneider are Turkey Trot champions

Brisk temperatures - in the low 20s - greeted runners for the 118th Delaware YMCA Turkey Trot. Impressively, almost 12,000 of the 14,000 registered runners crossed the finish line.

Only two of them could win, and that distinction went to Jacob Krolick of Arcade and Rachel Schneider of Washington D.C.

Krolick finished in a time of 24 minutes, 21 seconds. That was good for a comfortable 24-second victory over Chris Walters of Buffalo. Michael Thielman of North East, Pennsylvania finished third in 24:59.

The rest of the men’s top 10: Nick Hestand (25:26), Bryan Deibel (25:26), Seth Yernye (25:31), Jack Jibb (25:55), Tim Caramore (26:00), Jesse Mang (26:35), and Tim Mann (26:38).

Schneider finished the course in 28:17. That was 31 seconds better than the tie of Elizabeth Paddock, who resides in 28:48. Third was Aileen Hoak of Buffalo in 28:57.

The rest of the women’s top 10: Kasey Jones (29:35), Megan Baritot (30:01), Christin Handley (30:26), Michelle Hazelton (30:29), Megan Maffelt (30:48), Danielle Hunt (30:49), and Allison Carr (31:02).

The Turkey Trot marked the final event of the News Runner of the Year series, and the men’s division had only the second tie in the history of the series, which began in 1987.

Walters was nine points behind Vasilis Kariolis entering the race, and his second-place finish earned him nine points. Thus they will become co-winners. Walters had won the title in two previous years.

Meanwhile, Carr held on to win fourth straight women’s title and the eighth of her career. - by far a record in the series. No other runner has won the trophy so often.

— Budd Bailey

There are no comments - be the first to comment