Tavares returns to Bandits for 23rd season - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Tavares returns to Bandits for 23rd season

Scoring leader John Tavares is one of nine players signed to one-year contracts, the Buffalo Bandits announced on Friday.

Also agreeing to terms are: Mike Hominuck, Jamie Rooney, Derek Hopcroft, Kurtis Wagar, Joel Matthews and Jordan Critch, as well as 2013 draft picks Mitch Wilde and Nick Diachenko.

Tavares enters 2014 as the all-time leading scorer in NLL history with 1,666 points since joining the league in 1992. He’s spent his entire career with Buffalo. Last season, he appeared in 12 games and contributed 39 points.

Hominuck returned to Buffalo for a second stint leading up to the 2013 season after previously spending 2004 and 2005 with the club. Rooney appeared in three games in his inaugural season with the Bandits in 2013, registering seven points.

Hopcroft played four games last year for Buffalo, recording 11 points.

Wagar just completed his first season with the Bandits. Matthews, Buffalo’s fourth-round choice in 2012, has yet to appear in a game.

Critch, selected by the Bandits in the second-round of the 2012 draft, appeared in five games in 2013.

Wilde, Buffalo’s second-round selection in the 2013 draft, spent the past four years playing with Robert Morris. Diachenko, chosen one pick before Wilde in the second round of this year’s draft, recently completed his four-year career for the University of Delaware.

There are no comments - be the first to comment