Most incumbents in Niagara County retain their seats - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Most incumbents in Niagara County retain their seats

LOCKPORT – Lewiston voters chose a new supervisor Tuesday, but just about every other office in Niagara County towns and cities remained in the hands of the incumbents.

Dennis J. Brochey Sr. posted a comfortable victory over Republican Ernest C. Palmer for the Lewiston supervisor’s seat. Brochey, a Village of Lewiston trustee, becomes only the second Democratic supervisor in the county. Pendleton’s James A. Riester, who easily won re-election Tuesday, is the other.

Brochey will take over for embattled Lewiston Supervisor Steven L. Reiter, who faces a state attorney general’s probe of alleged misuse of town resources for his personal activities.

“From what I heard when I was campaigning, people were upset with the present way the government was being run,” Brochey said. “People were calling them ‘the good old boys’ and hoping I could fix this black eye the town has.”

The voters turned to Brochey instead of Palmer, the former Niagara Falls and Youngstown police chief, who brought a law-and-order pitch to his campaign. He defeated Reiter in the GOP primary, but couldn’t overcome Brochey, a former auto repair shop operator.

In North Tonawanda, Republican Mayor Robert G. Ortt was easily re-elected to a third term, beating Democrat Janet B. Zehr.

“We’ve made a ton of progress over the last four years,” Ortt said, pointing to the Remington Lofts project, the Walmart project and the extension of Meadow Drive, achieved while reducing the city workforce by 17 percent and avoiding tax increases the last three years.

Republicans also swept the Common Council races and re-elected City Attorney Shawn P. Nickerson.

In the City of Lockport, the only contest was for 5th Ward alderman, where incumbent Republican Kenneth M. Genewick defeated Phyllis J. Green, 80, a former eight-term alderman. She is a Republican but accepted the Democratic endorsement.

Turning back to the towns, Wheatfield’s Republican Supervisor Robert B. Cliffe cruised to victory over Thomas J. Larson, a Republican running as the Democratic nominee.

Republicans also kept the two Town Board seats being contested in Wheatfield. Incumbent Arthur W. Gerbec and newcomer Randy W. Retzlaff, the nephew of retiring Councilman Kenneth Retzlaff, defeated the Democratic team of Shirley J. Joy and Judy A. Blake.

The results showed the continuing Republican dominance in Wheatfield, where Democrats hold no offices, despite an edge in voter enrollment.

In Pendleton, voters kept Democrat Riester at the helm for a sixth term, but preferred Republicans for the Town Board. Aimee A. Jarvis and David I. Fischer won over Democrats Edward P. Harman, an incumbent, and Eileen H. Czarnecki.

Riester defeated Dominic Saraceno, an Independence Party member who moved into the town from the City of Lockport only six months ago.

Pendleton Highway Superintendent Jeffrey R. Stowell, a Republican, won his sixth term, beating challenger Aaron J. Bair, a Conservative running on the Democratic line.

In Wilson, Joseph A. Jastrzemski, a Republican, handily won his fifth term as supervisor, thumping Democrat Patrick A. Daul, a political newcomer.

In the Town of Lockport, Supervisor Marc R. Smith easily defeated his Conservative Party opponent, David J. Mongielo, as the Democrats sat out the election. Incumbents on the board were re-elected.

Newfane voters ended the service of Councilman Robert A. Pettit, 75, who lost in the GOP primary but appeared on two minor-party lines. The seats went to Republican primary winners Rick Coleman and Susan L. Neidlinger.

Town of Niagara voters re-elected two Democratic councilmen, Marc M. Carpenter, who was cross-endorsed by the Republicans, and Charles F. Teixiera, who wasn’t. They defeated GOP nominee Richard A. Sirianni.

Porter voters saw an opponent for Town Justice David J. Truesdale for the first time in Truesdale’s more than 30 years on the bench. But Truesdale snowed under Daniel P. Boland, a Democrat who appeared only on the Green Party line.


There are no comments - be the first to comment