Chautauqua County voters to elect new executive - The Buffalo News
print logo

Chautauqua County voters to elect new executive

MAYVILLE – Chautauqua County voters will be selecting a new county executive on Tuesday since Gregory Edwards, who served two terms, decided not to run again.

Vince Horrigan, a Republican, who currently serves on the County Legislature representing the Bemus Point area, is running against Ron Johnson, a Democrat from Fredonia.

Horrigan is a former Bemus Point village trustee and the former executive director of the Southwestern New York Chapter of the American Red Cross. He is a retired colonel who served 27 years in the Air Force.

Johnson is the former owner of the Johnson Adult Home in Fredonia and other assisted living residences in the Southern Tier. He is the Pomfret town justice and a former deputy sheriff.

Countywide there is also a race for county clerk between two people currently serving as legislators. Lori Cornell of Jamestown is the Democratic candidate, Larry Barmore of Gerry has the Republican line.

District Attorney David Foley is running unopposed on several lines.

Many voters have been assigned to new districts as the Legislature was downsized from 25 to 19 representatives. The 19 new districts are being chosen for the first time.

Districts 1 and 2 in the North County are represented by Democrats Keith Ahlstrom and Shaun Heenan. Both Dunkirk representatives are unopposed.

Voters in District 3 have a choice between Democrat William Coughlin and Bob Scudder, a Republican.

District 4 in Fredonia has a race between Janet Keefe, a Democrat, and Michael Sullivan, the Republican candidate.

The voters in District 5 , including areas in the townships of Arkwright, Sheridan, Pomfret and Villenova, has a three-way race. The candidates are Terry Niebel, a Republican; Susan Baldwin, a Democrat; and Amy Farnham, who is running on the Working Families line. Farnham is a council member in the Town of Sheridan.

District 6 has absorbed some new territory, and George Borrello, R-Silver Creek, is unopposed.

Villenova voters in District 7 have a choice between Republican John Runkle and Democrat Thomas DeJoe.

District 8 has Pierre Chagnon, R-North Harmony, unopposed, and in Jamestown, Charles Nazzaro is unopposed in District 9.

Jamestown voters who live in legislative District 10 have a choice on the ballot between Sharon Lisciandro on the Democratic line and Paul Wendel on the Republican line.

Robert Whitney Jr., a Democrat, is seeking re-election in Jamestown’s District 11 and has a challenger in Republican David E. Wilfong.

In District 12 in Jamestown, Democrat Frederick Larson is running against Republican Wilfred Prieto.

Paula DeJoy, a Jamestown Democrat, is unopposed in District 13.

In District 14, incumbent Republican Mark Tarbrake has no challenger.

District 15 also has no contest, with Cecil Miller unopposed on the Republican line.

Both Districts 14 and 15 are in the Town of Ellicott.

Thomas Erlandson, a Democrat, and Ronald Lemon, a Republican, are on the ballot in District 16 in the town of Poland.

Jay Gould, R-Ashville, the current chairman of the Legislature, is unopposed in the new District 17.

In Sherman, District 18 has a race between Edward Carutis, a Democrat, and David Himelein, a Republican.

In District 19, John Hemmer, R-Westfield, is unopposed.

There are no comments - be the first to comment