Election voter guide: City of Tonawanda - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Election voter guide: City of Tonawanda

City of Tonawanda


Ron Pilozzi (i) R, C, I

Rick Davis D, WF

What to know: The race for mayor of Tonawanda is a rematch of 2009 between incumbent Ron Pilozzi and former 4th Ward Councilman Rick Davis. Pilozzi eked out a victory over Davis with 1,858 votes on the Republican, Independence and Conservative Party lines to Davis’ 1,705 votes on the Democratic and Working Families Party lines. Pilozzi, 66, a 4-term 3rd Ward councilman and U.S. Army Vietnam veteran, is seeking his third 4-year term as mayor. Davis, 40, a Federal Aviation Administration meteorologist and U.S. Air Force veteran, said he opposes a tentative contract Pilozzi negotiated with Natale Builders to build 56 homes in Veterans Park and would eliminate the homes’ 35 percent property tax break. Pilozzi, in a statement to The Buffalo News, questioned how Davis could oppose the project “even though the reduced assessments will be twice the assessment of the average home in Tonawanda.”

Councilmember — 1st Ward

Paul P. Brunner D

Charles M. Gilbert R, C, WF, I

What to know: The race for the open seat vacated in September by Heather Little features Charles M. Gilbert, an electrician who served one term on the council from 2009-2011, taking on political newcomer Paul Brunner, who has experience in community development and planning as executive director of a small housing services non-profit.

Councilmember — 2nd Ward

Jackie A. Smilinich D, C, WF

Jonathan R. Juliano R, I

What to know: The 2nd Ward seat was guaranteed to change hands after Jackie A. Smilinich defeated incumbent Blake R. Boyle in a September Democratic primary. The retired postmaster and former president of the Tonawanda School Board takes on Republican Jonathan R. Juliano.

Councilmember — 3rd Ward

Richard A. Slisz (i) D, C, WF

John J. Hall R, I

What to know: Incumbent Richard A. Slisz narrowly won reelection two years ago against challenger Augustine R. Beyer by two votes. The election was decided in Feb. 2012 only after it was sent to State Supreme Court and a hand recount was conducted. This time, Slisz, former chairman of the Erie County Legislature, faces political newcomer John “Jay” Hall, a retiree of the city’s Department of Public Works.

Councilmember — 4th Ward

Jenna N. Koch D, C, WF, I

Brian M. Jopp R

What to know: Democrat Jenna N. Koch, director of human resources at a long-term care facility, competes with Brian M. Jopp, co-owner of a television production company for the 4th Ward seat currently held by Tyler Kossow, who is not seeking reelection.

There are no comments - be the first to comment