Cuomo selects 29 from WNY to join master teachers program - The Buffalo News
print logo

Cuomo selects 29 from WNY to join master teachers program

Twenty-nine local math and science teachers have been named master teachers by Gov. Andrew Cuomo and will participate in a new state program to be hosted at SUNY Buffalo State.

The master teachers will have access to professional development opportunities at the college. In addition, the 29 teachers will work with new and future teachers at their schools and on campus.

The teachers were selected for the master teachers program based on their excellence in three areas – teaching, content knowledge and knowing the needs of their students, said David Henry, Buffalo State associate professor of elementary education and reading.

“One of the reasons the governor was so interested in doing this is the importance of keeping good teachers in the field of teaching,” said Henry, who will coordinate the program at Buffalo State along with David Wilson, associate professor of mathematics. “This is an opportunity for good teachers. It’s another rung on their career ladder.”

Buffalo State is one of nine State University of New York campuses that will host master teachers programs. A 10th program will be held in New York City in partnership for Math for America.

Wendy Paterson, dean of Buffalo State’s School of Education, and Mark Severson, dean of the School of Natural and Social Sciences, will lead the program at Buffalo State.

Local teachers in the inaugural group include: Robert Meek and Tracy Nelson of Alden Central School District; JoAnna Nangle of Buffalo Academy of Science Charter School; Adam Hovey, Robert Merkle and Deanna Rizzo of Buffalo Public Schools; Jennifer Ayers and Kelly Goliszek of Clarence Central Schools.

Also, Charles Bonda, Michael Pawlikowski and Hillary Weir of Depew Union Free School District; Jean Baker and Jason Ersing of Frontier Central School District; Robert Collard of Grand Island Central School District; and Robert Musilli and Kaci Nowadly of Hamburg Central School District.

The group also includes: Jeffrey Salerno of Lake Shore Central Schools; Kathleen Stadler of Lancaster Central School District; Steven Solazzo of Maryvale Union Free School District; Matthew Rajczak of Niagara Falls City School District; Lisa Brosnick of North Collins Central School District; Cassandra Goldman of Orleans Niagara BOCES.

And, Michael Duszkiewicz of Pioneer Central School District; Tim Cook of Sherman Central School District; Sarah English of Sweet Home Central School District; Colleen Andres of Tonawanda City School District; Margaret Helmes of Western New York Maritime Charter School; Lon Knappenberger of Westfield Academy and Central School District; and Michael Belling of Williamsville Central School District.

There are no comments - be the first to comment