Most Genesee County races are unopposed - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Most Genesee County races are unopposed

BATAVIA – Residents of Genesee County’s 13 towns will see mostly uncontested races when they go to the polls Nov. 5.

Here are how the races shape up:

ALABAMA – Patricia A. Buczek of Basom is the lone candidate for town justice. For council, Janet I. Sage and William J. Cleveland, both Republicans from Oakfield, are unopposed.

ALEXANDER – David L. Miller, incumbent, and Eric T. Wagner, both Republicans, are running unopposed for council.

BATAVIA – Supervisor Gregory H. Post runs unopposed, as do Clerk Teressa M. Morasco and Council members Daniel G. Underhill and Paul A. Michalak. All are Republicans seeking new terms.

BERGEN – Running unopposed are incumbent Supervisor Donald S. Cunningham, Justice Donald R. Kunego and Council members Joseph A. Nenni and Brian T. Stone. All are Republicans.

BETHANY – Town Justice Donald R. McBride and councilwoman Susan Z. Neer are seeking re-election, and Daniel E. Adams, also a Republican, is running for the other council seat.

BYRON – In the Republican primary for supervisor, the incumbent, Robert A. Crnkovich, lost to Peter N. Yasses. And, in the Independence primary for highway superintendent, Gerald L. Heins was defeated by Eric J. Toal.

Incumbent Clerk Debra M. Buck-Leaton and Justice Daniel M. DiMateo are running unopposed. Meanwhile, there is a contest for council, with three candidates vying for two seats: Republicans Jeffrey J. Thompson and Suzanne J. Fuller and Democrat Donald L. Liles.

DARIEN – Town Clerk/Tax Collector Alice E. Calmes and council members Steven J. Ferry Jr., Democrats, are running unopposed. Republican Michael A. Fix also is running for a council post. Democrat Barbara A. Krazmien seeks to fill an unexpired term.

ELBA – Councilman Andrew J. Wormuth is running without competition for supervisor. Chantal H. Zambito and Daniel L. Coughlin Jr., are seeking two council spots. All are Republicans.

LE ROY – Republican Scott M. McCumiskey and Michael T. Welch, Independence, are vying for the justice post. Republican Thomas V. Stella, an incumbent, and David E. Paddock, Independence, are running unopposed for council.

OAKFIELD – Carl L. Glor is seeking the supervisor’s post. Thomas A. Graham is up for another term as justice, and Councilman Matthew E. Martin and Michael T. Cianfrini, the current supervisor, are running for council. All are Republicans.

PAVILION – Incumbent Justice John B. Welsh, a Republican, and council members Ronald O. Zarbo and Linda M. Thompson are seeking new terms. All are unopposed.

PEMBROKE – Edwin F. Mileham Jr. is trading his role as supervisor to run for town justice. Three candidates are running for two seats on the council: Republicans Edwin G. Arnold Jr., an incumbent, and John J. Worth, and Democrat Craig E. Blake.

STAFFORD – Walter Kershenski, a Republican, is seeking another term as clerk. Meanwhile, three people are seeking two seats on the council: Republican Ronald T. Panek, the incumbent, Robert W. Mattice, also a Republican, and June Wallace, a Democrat. Steven B. Boldt, who won the Republican primary, is on the ballot for highway superintendent.

There are no comments - be the first to comment