Niagara Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Five new Distinguished Student Scholarship recipients from Niagara County Community College will be showcased at the annual NCCC Foundation Scholarship Gala on Oct. 19 at the Niagara Falls Culinary Institute.

Honorees are: Rachel Winter, liberal arts and sciences, Lockport High School; Jenna Minner, nursing, Lockport High School; Christopher Galvano, business administration, Niagara Wheatfield High School; Olivia Spitzer, criminal justice, Royalton-Hartland High School; and Maria Zupa, liberal arts and sciences, Wilson High School.

The award provides two years of tuition-free education for incoming freshman students. The individuals were selected based on their academic excellence, service to the community and loyalty to Niagara County.


The Kenan Center in Lockport appointed new members to the board of governors. They are:

Anthony L. Ceasor, director of Human Resources, Sun Orchard Fruit Co.; Morgan L. Jones Jr., attorney, Jones, Hogan, Brooks; Christopher Marra, vice president and branch manager, M&T Bank; Mary Mullett-Flynn, owner, Back of the Moon Watercolors; Thomas D. Murphy, national account director, Summit Group; Scott Peloza, attorney, Phillips Lytle; Karen Sawicz, president, Lake Country Pennysaver; Carol A. Walker, civic leader and retired teacher; Maureen T. Watz, purchasing agent, Niagara County; and John P. Whitty, CEO, John P. Whitty & Co. PC.

Elected officers are: president, Eric W. Connor, certified financial planner, Connor Wealth Management; first vice president, Jayne Walker Lloyd, retail buyer, Seneca Gaming Corp.; second vice president, Mark Jaekle, executive district sales manager, Astra Zeneca; treasurer, Julie Coy, agent/owner, State Farm Insurance; and secretary, Wenda B. Behm, civic leader.

The Kenan Center serves as a regional community center offering arts, education and recreation programs.


There are no comments - be the first to comment