Antkowiak, Filarecki, Hannon, Herbert honored prior to bowling Kick-off Tournament - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Antkowiak, Filarecki, Hannon, Herbert honored prior to bowling Kick-off Tournament

Dan Antkowiak and Holly Filarecki will be honored as Male and Female Bowlers of the Year and Melanie Hannon and Andrew Herbert will receive the Youth honors in ceremonies prior to the Greater Buffalo USBC Association’s 47th annual Kick-Off Tournament on Thursday night at Airport Lanes. The awards a6 6:45 p.m. will begin the evening’s program.

Antkowiak won three titles in the GBUSBC Open Championship — Scratch Singles, Handicap Singles and Scratch All-Events.

Filarecki won Scratch Doubles, Scratch 6-Game Combine and Scratch All-Events in the Women’s Championship and was on the Handicap Team champion in the Open. Her 217.20 composite average was second in the association among all women.

Hannon earned the Female Youth Award for the fourth straight year. Among her many achievements were championship performances in the Youth Leaders Doubles Tournament and Youth Scratch Team Tournament. She led female youth bowlers in the association with a 203.87 composite average.

Herbert was the USBC National Teen masters champion. Locally he won Youth Leaders Doubles Scratch, Youth Team Tournament Scratch and Youth Singles Major/Senior Open Scratch titles.

The Kick-Off tournament is an invitation event with no entry fee and no prize money, Winners will receive plaques.

There will be competition in three divisions — men’s (28 entries), women’s (25 entries) and handicap (20 entries) — starting at 7 p.m.

The men’s field includes Obenauer Masters champion Joe Ciccone, Chuck Jagodzinski, who led the association with a 232.36 composite average, and Sugar Ray Hall, member of the Open Scratch Team champion.

The women’s field includes Julie Selk, who led the association women with a 221.06 composite average, and defending Kick-Off champion Carrie Racsumberger.

Brad Johnson, who won the Kick-off handicap title last year, will bowl in that event.

Each player will bowl two qualifying games with the top eight in each division moving on to one-game, single-elimination match-play.

Complete entry list and lane assignments is on Page D6.


There are no comments - be the first to comment