On the Record / Aug. 6, 2013 - The Buffalo News
print logo

On the Record / Aug. 6, 2013


The board of trustees of the Jewish Community Center of Greater Buffalo elected Gretchen Gross president for the 2013-14 fiscal year. Gross has served on the board for nearly two decades as member, secretary, committee chairwoman and volunteer. She is the retired owner of the Audubon in College Park Early Childhood Center in Amherst. Other officers: vice presidents, Ron Benderson, Phillip Nobel and Susan Freed-Oestreicher; treasurer, Dale Kadish; and secretary, Amy Marks Shaevel. Newly elected board members: Jordan Balsom, Irwin Gelman and Ben Kulick.


Innovate Niagara board of directors named Albert Iannantuono chairman. Iannantuono is chief executive officer, president and founder of Tri-Media Integrated Marketing Technologies. Other officers are vice chairman, Marc Nantel, associate vice president, research and innovation at Niagara College, and secretary-treasurer, Brian Simpson, a partner at Surface2Air Media. Innovate Niagara, formerly nGen, helps entrepreneurs in high-growth industries to start, grow and succeed in the Niagara region of Ontario.


Walter S. Polka, Niagara University professor of professional programs and Ph.D. program coordinator, was presented the 2013 State University of New York at Buffalo Graduate School of Education Alumni of Distinction Award during the school’s recent commencement ceremony.

Company Connections

The newly formed law firm of Bennett Schechter Arcuri & Will, founded by James Bennett, Joel Schechter, Kristin Arcuri and Pauline Will, is located in the Larkin Center of Commerce at 701 Seneca St. The firm practices in the areas of transportation and insurance defense, family and matrimonial law, wills and estates, residential and commercial real estate, and corporate law. Leah Bouquard, Aaron Felmet, Brian Minehan and Brian Alterio are associates, and Benjamin Hoey and James Granville are of counsel to the new firm.


Goldberg Segalla was named USA Cyber Risk Law Firm of the Year by Acquisition International at its 2013 M&A Awards. The M&A Awards recognize investors, advisers and service providers for excellence and achievement in their specialized field.


Title: Integrated lubrication module for compressors

No.: 8,496,089

Inventors: Czechowski, Edward S. (Orchard Park); Kolodziej, Robert M. (Varysburg); Nuchereno, Michael (Amherst)

Assignee: Cameron International Corp. (Houston, Texas)

Date issued: July 30, 2013


Title: Anvil-mounted dissecting tip for surgical stapling device

No.: 8,496,153

Inventors: Demmy, Todd (East Amherst); Olson, Lee Ann (Wallingford, Conn.)

Assignee: Covidien LP (Mansfield, Mass.)

Date issued: July 30, 2013

There are no comments - be the first to comment