Niagara County Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Niagara County Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

The Niagara Falls Culinary Institute was recently named first place award recipient of the I-Plants Magazine 2013 Design Contest for interior landscaping design using permanent botanicals. I-Plants Magazine is an online magazine and the official trade journal for the interior plantscape industry.

Carolyn Stanko, Niagara County Community College professor and Horticulture Program coordinator, conceived the original interior landscape design with Kathryn O’Donnell, owner of Botanicus Interior Landscaping of Tonawanda. The installation was completed by Botanicus.

A Tuscan theme was incorporated using olive trees, grape ivy vines, rosemary and basil. An assortment of specially designed artificial trees, bushes, flowers and vines are used in the kitchens, classrooms and throughout the five-story center atrium. In addition, a first floor wall features plant portraits and a variety of bush and hanging succulents.

Entries were judged on design aspects, appropriateness for the client, space, materials, containers, use of color and innovation in design.

The Niagara Falls Culinary Institute opened in Niagara Falls in 2012 and houses culinary and hospitality programs offered at Niagara County Community College.


Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center has awarded the 2013 Junior Volunteer Scholarship to Jenna Carroll. The scholarship is funded by the Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center Foundation and Auxiliary.

Carroll, a June graduate of Nardin Academy, will enroll this fall as a psychology major at the University of Alabama. She has been a junior volunteer for four years and has logged more than 300 hours of service.

Junior Volunteer Scholarships are awarded annually to graduating high school seniors who have volunteered at least two years and 100 hours at Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center or its Schoellkopf Health Center.


The Wilson Lions Club presented scholarships and awards at the Wilson Central Class Night and its 10th annual awards dinner held June 17 at the Wilson Boathouse. Wilson Central student Jesse Johnston received the Floyd “Red” Clark Scholarship Award check for $5,000.

Honorees include: Betty Haag, Citizen of the Year; Gary Pettit, Hometown Hero; and Robert Hull, Robert J. Uplinger Distinguished Service Award.

Jim and Diane Muscoreil were chosen by Lions Club President Bernie Leiker as “Lion Couple of the Year.” Service awards were presented to Steve Clark for 20 years; Phil Russell for 15 years; and Carol and Frank Nochajski, and Dennis and Cheryl Fulton Sears for 5 years.


There are no comments - be the first to comment