Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Attorney Michael Kuzma, who provides extensive pro bono legal services for organizations, was presented Saturday with the national League Making Democracy Work award at the League of Women Voters.

The League also honored Joan Bozer by creating an award in her name, the Joan K. Bozer Leadership Award, and awarding it to a current League Leader whose work embodies some of Joan's qualities. Judy Metzger received the award Saturday.


The Greater Buffalo Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists' College Scholarship Program has awarded scholarships for the next academic year, marking the 34th year it has honored aspiring and professional journalists.

The three recipients are:

Thomas Chulick III, of Erie, Pa., who will be a senior at St. Bonaventure University.

Alexa Kurzius, of Snyder and Brooklyn, who will be a graduate student at New York University.

James Levulis, of Eden, who will be a senior at Syracuse University.

Since 1978, some 129 awards have been made, totaling more than $110,000. Winners have attended 26 different colleges and universities in the United States and Canada.


Thomas J. Tucker, president of the Buffalo Center Chapter of United University Professions at the University at Buffalo, will receive the Regional Outstanding Leader Award from the Western New York Region of New York State United Teachers at that union's 25th annual awards dinner, to be held Thursday in Samuel's Grande Manor in Clarence.

Tucker, scene shop supervisor in the UB Center for the Arts, will be the first labor leader from higher education to receive the award.

He has held several UUP chapter offices, including vice president for professionals and grievance chairman for professional staff.


Bradley Owens, assistant professor of organization and human resources in the University at Buffalo School of Management, received the Milton Plesur Excellence in Teaching Award from the Undergraduate Student Association.

Undergraduate Kittie Pizzutelli nominated Owens after taking his class last fall.

The award, named for Plesur, a professor in the UB Department of History who died in 1987, recognizes a faculty member's commitment to students and quality of teaching.

Owens joined the School of Management in fall 2011 and teaches organizational behavior and administration.


Students from St. Bonaventure University were inducted into the Xi Delta Chapter of the National Spanish Honor Society Sigma Delta Pi. The induction was held April 26 and was conducted by the chapter adviser, Dr. Leigh A. Simone, assistant professor of modern languages.

The students inducted were Shannon McGlew, a biology major from Cattaraugus; Nicole Calamunci, a Spanish major from Jamestown; Kristie Schieffer, a journalism and mass communication major from Holland; Andrew Liuzzo, a journalism and mass communication major from Jamestown; and Ian Rogers, a modern languages major from Amherst.

Founded in 1919, Sigma Delta Pi is the largest international foreign language society in the world with more than 540 chapters and the only honor society devoted exclusively to students of Spanish in four year colleges and universities.


Distinguished citizens from the five counties in the Boy Scouts' Iroquois Trail Council were honored at the 37th annual Boy Power Dinner in the forum at Genesee Community College.

Genesee: Betty Lapp, GCC's retired nursing school director and chairwoman of the United Memorial Medical Center.

Wyoming: Mitchell McLaughlin, a vice president of Five Star Bank and board chairman of the Wyoming County United Way.

Orleans: David Bellavia, a decorated veteran of the Iraq War, author and activist in supporting war veterans. Bellavia, who now lives in Batavia, is seeking the Republican nomination for the 26th Congressional District.

Livingston: James Culbertson, county clerk, who has served on many volunteer boards, including United Way.

Niagara: Ken Kaufman and Michelle Farina, a husband-and-wife musical team responsible for raising money for many causes. Ken is the organist for Buffalo Sabres home games.


Genesee County's retiring Veterans Service officer has been selected as a New York State Veterans Hall of Fame honoree.

State Sen. Michael H. Ranzenhofer nominated Harry "Hal" Kreter, a retired Marine Corps master sergeant with 24 years of service who has headed the county's Veterans Service Agency since 1995. The Genesee County Legislature recently appointed Army veteran William R. Joyce of East Pembroke to succeed him.


Erie County Executive Mark C. Poloncarz was joined by members of the Department of Senior Services at the Eden Library in awarding 2012 "Senior of the Year" honors to Phillip Muck of Eden.

Muck, an Army veteran and retiree from Lake Shore Central School District, serves as a trustee for the Eden Library, Eden Historical Society and the Eden Bicentennial Steering Committee. He is also active with the Boys & Girls Club of Eden, as well as the Evans Lions Club.

He delivers for Meals on Wheels and takes overflow food pantry items to other pantries in need, and works with the Claddagh Commission on developing homes for people with disabilities.


The Diocese of Buffalo Ladies of Charity, an affiliate organization of Catholic Charities, recently presented eight students with $800 scholarships toward their high school education.

Five scholarships were renewed to students currently attending high school: Jenna Bettinger, a sophomore at St. Mary's High School; Andrew Bishop, a sophomore at Bishop Timon-St. Jude High School; Jennifer Dudzinski, a freshman at St. Mary's High School; Ariel Heininger, a junior at Immaculata Academy; and William Ruof, a junior at Bishop Timon-St. Jude High School.

New recipients are Richard Cieslak, who will attend St. Mary's High School in the fall, Theresa Gerard, who will attend Immaculata Academy in the fall, and Ryan Kydd, who will attend Cardinal O'Hara High School in the fall.


Navy Lt. Frank Azzarello, a 1992 graduate of Cheektowaga Central High School, has been promoted to lieutenant commander and assigned command of a naval patrol coastal ship, stationed at Virginia Beach.