Share this article

print logo

Niagara picked 4th, Canisius eighth in MAAC

Niagara returns enough talent to finish among the top half of the MAAC once again, while Canisius, who returns all five starters, is expected to make a big improvement from a year ago. Every is chasing Siena who has a team worthy of the Sweet 16. Here is the predicted order of finish:

1. Siena
2. Fairfield
3. Rider
4. Niagara
5. Loyola
6. Manhattan
7. Iona
8. Canisius
9. Saint Peter's
10. Marist

---Siena's Kenny Hasbrouck was named the preseason MAAC Player of the Year. Joining him on the all-conference team are Niagara's Tyrone Lewis and Canisius' Frank Turner. Hard to believe Griffs' sophomore Greg Logins wasn't ranked among the league's top 15 players. Here's the list:

First Team
Jonathan Han, Fairfield
Ryan Thompson, Rider
Alex Franklin, Siena
Kenny Hasbrouck, Siena
Edwin Ubiles, Siena

Second Team
Anthony Johnson, Fairfield
Gary Springer, Iona
Brian Rudolph, Loyola
Antoine Pearson, Manhattan
Tyrone Lewis, Niagara
Harris Mansell, Rider

Third Team
Frank Turner, Canisius
Marquis Sullivan, Loyola
Devon Austin, Manhattan
David Devezin, Marist
Wesley Jenkins, Saint Peter's

Preseason Player of the Year: Hasbrouck

---Rodney McKissic

There are no comments - be the first to comment