Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

The Metro Buffalo Alliance of Black School Educators announced the selection of a dozen minority students attending public or parochial schools in Buffalo who have had exemplary achievement in mathand science.

Winning the fifth-annual Benjamin Banneker Awards of Excellence in Math and Science are: Damon V. Haynes II, Jazmene Palmer, Jimmitti Teysir, Jaymie McCarley, William Slaughter, Nadea Boles, James L. Neely II, Bich Thi-Ngoe Vu, Hieu Quang Nguyen, Elijah X. New, Corine Fanou and Bria Thompson.

Their awards are named after Banneker, son of a freed slave, who attended a Quaker school where he learned to read, write and compute mathematical equations.


D'Youville College honored three individuals for their charitable work at the 23rd annual Justice Michael F. Dillon Presidential Honors Scholarship reception Oct. 24 in the College Center on campus.

The college cited Paul D. Bauer, Thomas R. Beecher Jr. and Christopher L. Jacobs, co-founders of the Buffalo Inner City Scholarship Opportunity Network (BISON) Scholarship Fund. They served the privately funded scholarship program that enables economically disadvantaged children to attend a private school of their choice. About 1,200 students each year go to 63 private and parochial grammar schools in the Buffalo area.


Arthur A. Glick, president of the Jewish Federation of Greater Buffalo has announced that Julie Kianof will head its 104th annual meeting, and Benjamin Krasna, deputy consul general of Israel in New York, will be featured speaker.

The event will be held at 7:30 p.m. Monday in the Jewish Community Center's Benderson Family Building in Getzville.

The Dr. Milton and Ruth H. Kahn Young Leadership award will be presented to Maxine Awner by last year's recipient, Dina Benderson. Sheldon Yellen will receive the Dr. Meyer and Ann S. Riwchun Award from the 2006 honoree, Greg Leifer.


The Amherst Senior Citizens Foundation has announced that Jamie Jordan, a financial planner and long-term-care insurance specialist, has been appointed a member of the foundation board. She will serve a three-year term.

Jordan has served almost six years on the Amherst Senior Advisory Board and also will be on the foundation's Development Committee.


Jorge V. Jose, vice president for research at the University at Buffalo, has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

Jose was selected as a fellow for his contributions in theoretical physics and in education and senior administration.

Before joining UB in August 2005, Jose was the Matthews University Distinguished Professor and chairman in the department of physics at Northeastern University. He is also founding director of the Center for Interdisciplinary Research on Complex Systems at Northeastern.


There are no comments - be the first to comment