Share this article

print logo

WNY Baseball Hall names 15 inductees

A class of 15 will be inducted into the Western New York Baseball Hall of Fame at the organization's enshrinement dinner on Wednesday, Sept. 19, at Fontana's Banquet Center, 2240 Clinton Street, West Seneca.

The class includes former players, managers and contributors from Muny, Suburban League, AAABA, Cheektowaga Classic and American Legion baseball.

Tickets for the Hall of Fame dinner are still available and can be obtained by contacting Bob Miske at 834-1048.

>The 2007 inductees:

Chuck Arbogast: Long-time manager of the North Buffalo Mustangs in AAA Muny League, led them to 1972 New York State National Baseball Congress championship and the 1973 Muny AAA championship. He died in an auto accident returning from a baseball game in 1976.

Michael Betz: Crafty pitcher for the Eldredge Club and the Voyageurs in the Muny AAA league for nine years.

Gene Burns: Power-hitting first baseman and a perennial Suburban League all-star for 15 years with Lyndonville and Krull Park.

Tom Caruso: Outstanding leadoff man and shortstop for 15 years in Muny AAA ball.

Alan Chester: Played, coached and managed for more than 50 years. An outstanding pitcher for the Cheektowaga Travelers and Tonawanda Angels in the Classic League. His teams won two Rechlin Cups and two All-Around finals in the Suburban League and Muny AAA playoffs in 2000.

Rich Fink: Outstanding first baseman who was a key member of City Mattress teams that was runner-up twice and won five Suburban League All-Around championships as well as the Rechlin Cup in 1993. Also played Muny in his 20-year career.

Jim Kramer: Remarkable pitcher for Holland in the Central Division of the Suburban League. Between 1969 and '72 had a 45-2 record. A clutch hitter who could fill in at many positions.

Chuck Minkel: A catcher who was a winner at every level of baseball. Was with Aquilas in 1976 when they won Cheektowaga Classic League and played on three Voyageurs Muny AAA championship teams. All-Western New York at Depew High and led Depew Post to the state American League championship.

Tom Mulvey: Prototypical No. 2 hitter who played many positions for Niagara Permanent team in Lockport from 1965 to '72.

Ed Pedersen: Standout shortstop for North Collins in Suburban League from 1941 through '77. Typically batted third or fourth.

Tim Stockweather: Shortstop, pitcher and catcher for more than 25 years in the Erie-Niagara Suburban League. Led his team to the Presidents Cup in 1976 and the Rechlin Cup in 1988. Pitched a no-hitter against Lancaster in 1984 and hit more than 100 career home runs. Vice president for the Erie-Niagara League for 11 years.

Mike Sullivan: Pitcher, catcher and infielder for Lake View for more than 10 years and player-manager for another 10 years, winning three Rechlin Cups. Also served as president of the Lake Shore League for four years and vice chairman of the Board of Presidents for the Suburban League for another four years.

Jaye Trapasso: Outstanding hitter in Muny AAA for more than 10 years. Was outstanding outfielder and designated hitter for the Eldredge Club when it won four consecutive Muny championships from 1974-77. Made major contributions to NABA national title team in 1974.

Charlie Weber: Career as pitcher and outfielder in Muny AAA and Suburban League spanned 27 years. Won his first Muny AAA game as a 16-year-old. Played for Amherst team in the Erie-Niagara League that won five consecutive All-Around Championships.

Rev. Richard "Duke" Zajac: A former coach who was president of the Am-Vets Parochial School Baseball League for 29 years.

There are no comments - be the first to comment