Share this article

print logo


Two fire companies to receive federal grants

Two fire companies in Erie and Cattaraugus counties will receive federal grants from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Scranton Volunteer Fire Department is in line for a $163,561 grant, while Knapp Creek will receive $27,727.

The Assistance to Firefighters grant program assists local fire companies in programs and activities to improve the effectiveness of firefighting operations through specialized emergency training for response to situations like terrorist attacks, enhancement of emergency medical services programs, development of health and safety initiatives, establishment of fire education and prevention programs and equipment and facility upgrades.


Conservative Party endorses candidates

ELLICOTTVILLE -- The Cattaraugus County Conservative Party recently endorsed candidates for the November election.

Legislature candidates are Crystal Abers in District 1; Jim Ellis and Mark Schindler in District 2; Norm Marsh and Robert Neal in District 3; Bill Sprague in District 4; Donna Vickman, Dale Scurr and Jerry Burrell in District 5; Mike O'Brien and Joe McLarney in District 6; Jim Boser and Mike Stayer in District 7; Charles Krause in District 8; Julie Hamacher and Howard Peterson in District 9; Mike McLaughlin, Mary Kehoe Fay, James Snyder, George Pancio, and William Aiello in District 10.

For Olean aldermen, the party supports Michael Kayes (Ward 2), Linda Edstrom (Ward 4), Rick Smith (Ward 6) and Frank Steffen (Ward 7).

Other endorsements were: Jeff Pond, Salamanca mayor; Jim Griffith, county clerk; Howard Van Renssalaer, coroner.

There are no comments - be the first to comment