Share this article

print logo

Cattaraugus County voters face a nearly full Legislature slate

A nearly full slate of County Legislature candidates for 21 seats in 10 districts has been filed with the Cattaraugus County Board of Elections.

A legislator in District 1 is unopposed. In Districts 3 and 9, candidates will face challenges in primary races in September.

[D stands for Democratic Party; R, for Republican; C, for Conservative; I for Independence Party; and WF, for Working Families Party.]

Following is how the ballot shapes up:

District 1 [Towns of Dayton and Perrysburg), elect one legislator: Legislature Chairwoman Crystal Abers, R, C, I, of South Dayton, is unopposed for another four-year term.

District 2 [Towns of East Otto, Leon, Mansfield, New Albion, Otto and Persia], elect two legislators: Incumbent James Ellis, R, I, C-East Otto, faces challengers Patrick Murphy, R, I-New Albion; Mark Schindler, D, C-Gowanda; and Hobart Rhinehart, D-Cattaraugus. Murphy is a New Albion councilman.

District 3 [Towns of Coldspring, Conewango, Little Valley, Napoli, Randolph, South Valley], elect two legislators: Incumbent Norman Marsh, R, I, C-Little Valley, is challenged by Robert Neal, R, C; Kenneth Bissell, R; Phylis J. Williams, D; and John Hale, D, C, all of Randolph, and D. John Zimbardi, R, D, I-Little Valley. Petitions filed indicate primary races for Democrats and Republicans. Zimbardi is a former legislator and Hale, an East Randolph trustee.

District 4 [Town of Yorkshire], elect one legislator: Incumbent William Sprague, D, C-Yorkshire, is challenged by Gina Gasper, R, I-Delevan.

District 5 [Towns of Ashford, Ellicottville, Farmersville, Franklinville, Freedom and Machias], elect three legislators: Incumbents Jerry Burrell, R, I, C-Franklinville, and Charles Couture, R, I-West Valley, face Donna Vickman, R, I, C-Farmersville; Charles Hebdon, D, WF-West Valley; and Dale Scurr, D, C-Farmersville. Hebdon is a former legislator and Scurr a Farmersville town councilman.

District 6 [Towns of Hinsdale, Humphrey, Ischua, Lyndon, Portville], elect two legislators: Lone incumbent Michael O'Brien, R, I, C, faces Joseph McLarney, R, C, and Eva Taggerty, D, I. All are from Portville. McLarney is a Portville village trustee.

District 7 [Town of Allegany, except District 4], elect two legislators: Incumbents Dick Giardini, D, I, WF, and James Boser, D, I, C, are challenged by Michael Stayer, R, C. All are from Allegany.

District 8 [Towns of Carrollton and Great Valley], elect one legislator: Incumbent Charles Krause, C, is challenged by Mark Ward, D; Jeffery Zariczny, R, all of Great Valley, and OVER 43 LNsRichard Chase, I, Kill Buck. Ward is City of Olean school superintendent.

District 9 [City of Salamanca and Towns of Salamanca and Red House], elect two legislators: Incumbents Carmen Vecchiarella, D, I, and Kenneth "Bucky" McClune, D, I, WF, face Julie Hamacher, R, D, C, and Howard Peterson, R, C. All are from Salamanca. Hamacher is a former county elections commissioner; Peterson, a former county legislator and department head. Democrats will face a primary race.

District 10 [City of Olean, Town of Olean and District 4 in Allegany, elect five legislators: incumbents are Linda Witte, D, I, WF, and Michael McLaughlin, D, I, C, challenged by, Mary Fay, R C; William Aiello, R, C; James J. Snyder, R, I, C; George Pancio, R, C; Steve Teachman, R; John Padlo, D, I, WF; and Fred Scicchitano, D, WF. All are from the City of Olean.

Witte is currently Legislature minority leader; Fay, a former School Board member; Aiello, a former Olean juvenile officer; Snyder, a former legislator and chairman; Pancio, current School Board member; Teachman, former Olean alderman; and Padlo, current Olean alderman.

There are no comments - be the first to comment