Share this article

print logo

On the Record / July 24, 2007

Hires / Promotions / Honors

Working For Downtown recently honored Dianne McQuillen posthumously with the 2007 Joan Bozer Award for her significant contribution to downtown Buffalo. McQuillen was founder and the first editor of The Downtowner, the urban weekly newspaper. Other awardees: The Fernbach Award, Jake Schneider, president of Schneider Design Architects, for a group or individual whose efforts have resulted in the aesthetic revitalization of downtown Buffalo; Member recognition awards, Kathy Hochul, Erie County clerk, and Michael B. Powers of Phillips Lytle for their work to remove the Thruway toll barriers at the Breckenridge and Ogden Street area; President's Award, Elaine Friedhaber for going above and beyond the call of duty for the organization; and Certificates of Appreciation, Lynn Waclawek and Karin Cranz for dedication and service to WFD.


Northgate Healthcare Facility certified nursing assistant Linda Jean Owens was awarded the 2007 Ruth E. Stafford LPN Scholarship from the New York State Health Facilities Association.


The Greater Niagara Frontier Council of the Boy Scouts of America named Bruce A. Shields chairman of its 20th Annual Scouter Citizen of the Year Golf Tournament. The tournament takes place from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m., Aug. 27, at the Wanakah Country Club in Hamburg. Shields is a professor in the Education Department of Daemen College. Other golf tournament committee members are: Joseph Abdallah, Erie County Youth Services; Sean P. Beiter and Donna Blaufuss, Jaeckle Fleischmann and Mugel; MaryAnn Coulson, Smith Barney; Gordon Gannon Jr., Gannon Gannon and Sullivan; Fred Giese, NOCO Energy Corp.; Steve Charboneau, Boy Scouts of America; Pat Peri Jr., BlueCross BlueShield of WNY; Greg Rodems, Rodems Construction Co.; George Schlemmer, Industrial Power and Lighting Corp.; and Robert A. Wutz Jr., Mount Calvary Cemetery.


Company items

Carleton Technologies, Orchard Park, was awarded a $42,400 contract for centrifugal pump units by the U.S. Air Force Materiel Command's Oklahoma City Air Logistics Center, Tinker Air Force Base, Okla.; a $110,456 contract for pressure parts kits by the U.S. Naval Inventory Control Point, Philadelphia; and a $35,972 contract for air duct hose assemblies by the Defense Logistics Agency's Defense Supply Center, Columbus, Ohio; Moog Inc., East Aurora, was awarded a $5.02 million contract for the maintenance, repair and rebuilding of equipment by the U.S. Naval Inventory Control Point, Philadelphia; Erie Engineered Products, North Tonawanda, was awarded a $121,966 contract for shipping and storage containers by the U.S. Naval Inventory Control Point, Philadelphia; Moog Inc., East Aurora, was awarded a $1.28 million for the repair and modification of motional transducers by the U.S. Naval Inventory Control Point, Philadelphia; and Magtrol Inc., Buffalo, was awarded a $28,538 contract for dynamometers by NASA's Langley Research Center, Hampton, Va.



Title: "Heat transfer fluid comprising difluoromethane and carbon dioxide"

No.: 7,238,299

Inventors: Singh, Ravjiv R. (Getzville); Pham, Hang T. (Amherst); Paonessa, Martin R. (Niagara Falls)

Assignee: Honeywell International (Morristown, N.J.)

Date issued: July 3, 2007

There are no comments - be the first to comment