Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll /Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Karen Weyant, an assistant professor at Jamestown Community College, has received a $7,000 poetry fellowship from the New York Foundation for the Arts.

A JCC faculty member since 2001, she was one of 124 foundation recipients chosen from more than 3,000 applicants.

Susan J. Shin, daughter of Dr. Kyu H. and Won Shin of East Amherst and a 2003 graduate of Williamsville East High School, delivered a commencement address last month during graduation exercises at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She was president of MIT's Class of 2007.


Paula Eade Newcomb, of West Seneca, special counsel at the Bouvier Partnership, LLP, has been named to the board of directors of the Erie County Bar Foundation for a three-year term.


Jeff Hirschberg, a certified public accountant, has been elected chairman of the board of Literacy Volunteers of Buffalo & Erie County for 2007-2008.
Also elected were John Ticco, vice president of Christa Construction, vice chairman; Jeremy Beck, portfolio manager at First Niagara Bank, treasurer; and Carol Wilson will remain as secretary.

Elected to three-year terms on the board of directors are Janell Andersen of Citizens Bank, Pauline Giles of the City of Buffalo Wellness Center, Tricia Kawi, an educator; Molly Mallia of Damon & Morey, Bobbi Scott of Shea's Performing Arts Center and Elizabeth Smith Poloncarz of the Buffalo & Erie County Historical Society.


Two Buffalo-area students at Syracuse University recently received awards at the university's Army and Air Force Reserve Officers Training Corps Chancellor's Review and Awards Ceremony.

Michael Moran of Hamburg, a senior majoring in electrical engineering, received the Howard C. Miller Award for outstanding leadership and an interest in military history.

Chad Vincton of Lockport, a junior majoring in international relations, received the American Legion William P. Tolley Scholastic Award for ranking highest in university and ROTC academics.


Erin M. Lawless has been named assistant director of donor relations and special events in the College Relations Division at Canisius College.

Formerly assistant director of campus life at Knox College in Galesburg, Ill., she earned a bachelor's degree in psychology and criminal justice from Canisius in 2000 and a master's degree in college student personnel administration from Canisius in 2004.


Four Western New York college journalists have been awarded a total of $6,500 in scholarships by the Greater Buffalo Chapter, Society of Professional Journalists. All were chosen for their academic performance, enterprise and financial need. They are:

Andrew Rafferty of North Tonawanda, John Carroll University; Wendy Joan Biddlecombe of Buffalo, New School; Katherine Gibas of Grand Island, Syracuse University; and Robert Pape of Webster, University at Buffalo.


Four people will begin three-year terms on D'Youville College's board of trustees in September.

They are: Stephen J. Brereton, consul general of the Consulate General for Canada in Buffalo; Andrew W. Dorn Jr., president and chief executive officer of Great Lakes Bancorp, headquartered in Buffalo; Cheryl A. Klass, president of Women & Children's Hospital of Buffalo; and David White, district manager of Walgreens, overseeing 24 stores in Western and Central New York.


New officers have been elected for the Amherst Past Fire Chiefs Association, which supports the Amherst Fire Chiefs Association and its related firematic functions.

Richard Aquino, past chief of Swormville Fire Company, is president; Carl Fischer, past chief of Main-Transit Fire Department, vice president; Leonard J. Fiegl, past chief of Getzville Fire Company, secretary; and Michael Moore, past chief of Ellicott Creek Fire Company, treasurer.


There are no comments - be the first to comment