Share this article

print logo


Buffalo Sabres coach Lindy Ruff will be honorary chairman for the Police Athletic League of Buffalo's fourth annual auction. The event will take place Nov. 18, from 5:30-9 p.m. at Salvatore's Italian Gardens in Depew, and is open to the public.

The event serves as a fund-raiser for PAL programs and camps that annually service upwards of 25,000 youngsters.

Danny Gare, the former Sabres' all-star, will serve as auctioneer. Auction items include vacation getaways to Florida and North Carolina, sports memorabilia, golf outings, and theater tickets.

Tickets cost $50 each, and this price includes open bar and food stations. Tickets may be purchased by calling the Police Athletic League of Buffalo at (716) 884-9681.

Former Buffalo Sabres center Pat LaFontaine completed the 2004 Florida Triathlon on Saturday, finishing the 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike ride and 26.2-mile run at Panama City, Fla., in 13:06.49.

Joanne York-Rappl of Buffalo finished fourth in the 40-44 age group and in the top 50 for women overall, including pros. Her time of 10:51.07 placed her 436th out of 2,116 entrants.

LaFontaine was the 1,415th finisher. He, Peter Smith of Huntington, N.Y., and Bob DeAngelo of Greenwich, Conn., raised $33,000 for Companions in Courage, a charity founded by LaFontaine.

Chad Kelly (Grand Island) in the boys 10-11 group, Jenna Harrington (Lockport) in the 12-13 girls, Dominic Torrelli (Akron) in boys 12-13, and Alyssa Zemla (Hamburg) in girls 14-15 were among the eight winners in the NFL Pepsi Punt, Pass and Kick Buffalo Bills Team championship Sunday at Ralph Wilson Stadium. Other winners were Jillian Silvanic of Owego (girls 8-9), Justin Lewis of Painted Post (8-9 boys), Rachael Williams of Penfield (10-11 girls), and Zach Anderson of Kane, Pa. (boys 14-15).

The 42nd championship game of the John F. Kennedy Football League will be played Sunday at 11 a.m. in the Buffalo Bills Field House between the JFK Bills (9-3), winners of the regular season and 2003 champions, and the JFK Raiders (8-4), third-place finishers and the 2001 and 2002 league champions. Public is welcome.

Sean Debiew scored unassisted with a minute and a half left in the second overtime to give the Buffalo Wings a 7-6 victory over the New York City Jokers in the 14-and-under championship game of the North American Roller Hockey Championships in Cincinnati.

The Wings won the 36-team Pee Wee Gold Division, going 7-1 overall. In the playoffs they defeated the Multi-Line Oakville (Ont.) Coyotes, 2-1, the California Rink Rats, 2-1, in double overtime on Dan Wendt's goal and the Wild Alpine, 4-3.

The team was made up of co-captains Kyle Kozlowski (Pendleton) and Justin Kochan (Amherst), Geoff Abrams (Clarence), Paul Hockwater (Cheektowaga), Chris Fabozzi (Amherst), Brad Coughlin (North Tonawanda), Ken Kroll (Florida), goalie Tom McCollum (Cambria), Debiew and Wendt. Mike Kozlowski was head coach assisted by Jason Flowers and Jay Downing.

Michael Ratchuk of South Buffalo will play for the Team USA Under-17 team in the Four Nations Cup Tournament this week at the ESL Sports Center on the campus of Monroe Community College in Rochester. Team USA will face Russia at 7 p.m. tonight after Switzerland and Slovakia meet at 3 p.m. The championship game will be Saturday.

* HALL OF FAME: The St. Joe's Alumni Association has announced its Sports Hall of Fame Class for 2004. The 11th annual ceremony will be held Friday at 7 p.m. at the school, 845 Kenmore Ave. The class includes: Raymond Jacobi, Class of 1946; Matthew Paske '65; Michael Ganey '66; Thomas Murray '87; and the 1955 and 1956 baseball teams (Jerry Attea, George Belden, Nate Bliss, Herman Brauch, Kevin Brinkworth, Paul Cecchini, John Fromen, Ken Gantress, Joe Jacobi, John Kane, Henry Kaye, Frank Kreutzer, Andy Longo, Paul Lyons, Roger Mattulke, Robert McCormick, Dave McLaughlin, Pete McQuaid, Bob Paske, Dick Paske, Russ Porter, John Rauh, Frank Schiavone, Robert Weiss and Dick Wiktorowski).

There are no comments - be the first to comment