Share this article

print logo


Former Buffalo News business reporter James T. Madore has been elected to a two-year term as president of the Alumni Association of Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism.

Now the economics writer at Newsday, the nation's sixth-largest metropolitan newspaper, he received his Columbia graduate degree in 1988.

"It's an honor to lead the alumni association, which endeavors to strengthen the ties between Columbia and its far-flung graduates," he said. "I hope we can build upon our past successes by using the Internet to connect (alumni), particularly those working overseas."

Before joining Newsday in 1996, Madore worked for The News and the Watertown Daily Times. He received a bachelor's degree in history and political science from Washington University.

Buffalo attorney George E. Riedel Jr. has been elected a fellow of the New York Bar Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the New York State Bar Association.

The foundation supports programs to educate high schoolers about the justice system, inform New Yorkers about their legal rights and provide legal services to low-income elderly people and to victims of domestic violence.

Carol Keierleber has been named interim executive director of the Girl Scout Council of Buffalo & Erie County.

She has served in the interim executive director program with Girl Scouts of the USA since 1994. Most recently, she served the Nassau County Council.

Before 1994, she was executive director for the Maumee Valley Girl Scout Council in Ohio for 10 years and the Lac-Baie Girl Scout Council in Wisconsin for six years. She is a native of Wisconsin and a graduate of the University of Wisconsin at Eau Claire.

Joseph A. Matteliano has been elected president of the Western New York Trial Lawyers Association.

Other officers of the association, formed in 1960 to promote the administration of the civil justice system, include the vice president and president-elect, Richard J. Barnes; secretary, Robert E. Scott; and treasurer, Jill M. Tuholski.

Directors are Christopher J. O'Brien, Patrick J. Brown, Cornelius J. Lang, Michael F. Perley, Daniel J. Marren and Peter F. Brady.

In addition to working with Administrative Judge Vincent E. Doyle Jr. of the 8th Judicial District, the association, which has more than 250 members from the local trial bar, provides input on obtaining a just approach to tort reform. Through its administrator, Ellen Avery Novak, the association conducts an arbitration program for local attorneys.

Eugene Witkowski of Buffalo has been donating blood and platelets to the American Red Cross because he has a strong feeling "to help the unfortunate. I'd rather be giving as long as I am strong and healthy than to be receiving."

The 54-year-old contractor started giving blood in the mid-1970s and is now working on his 37th gallon as a donor.

He said 8 1/2 gallons have been blood and the rest of his donations have been platelets. He said he is able to donate 24 times a year, which amounts to about three gallons.

David Vasquez has been installed as chief and David Nagy as president of Reserve Hose Fire Company.

Other firematic officers include the first assistant chief, James Drajem; second assistant chief, James Bochenski; captains, Joseph Eller and Jon Huller; lieutenants, Christopher Boltz, Mark Beehler, Fred Pordum, James Unger and Fred Oliver; training officers, Michael Kluck and Cary Pelow; safety officer, Mark Mendola; communications, Charles Wilder and Joseph Castiglia; foremen, Frank Dirschberger and Andrew Kraus; chief's secretary, Castiglia; infection control officer, Timothy McQuade; fire police captain, William Cline; and fire police lieutenant, Leo Gainey.

Administrative officers include the vice president, Michael Kamm; secretary, Kurt Zechmann; treasurer, Charles Wilder; financial secretary, Linda Gruber; sergeant-at-arms, Kenneth Zeches; and chaplain, William Cline. Directors include Norm Hartman, Dave Mazurowski, Martin Wendle, Ernie Emminger, Don Frontera and Dan Krakowski.

Officers of the Ladies Auxiliary are the president, Janet Noody; vice president, Ruth Smith; secretary, Sue Mazurowski; treasurer, Sharon Eisenhut; sergeant-at-arms, Tina Szmania; and chaplain, Connie Aures. Directors are Agnes Schmidt, Shirley Ulrich, Mary Dafchick, Judy Hartman, Dolly Handzlik and Delores "Babe" Wolf.

Dr. A. Marc Tetro, and Dr. Graham R. Huckell, both of Buffalo and in private practice with Simmons Orthopaedic & Spine Associates, 235 North St., will be inducted as fellows of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons in San Francisco at the academy's 68th annual meeting later this month.

They are among 622 new fellows who will be inducted into the 25,500-member academy.

After completing his orthopedic surgical residency, Tetro took further training on hand and upper extremity surgery at Washington University and then concentrated on shoulder and elbow surgery at Barnes Hospital in St. Louis.

Huckell received a one-year fellowship at the University of Toronto after completing his surgical residency. His concentration was on adult reconstructive surgery. His fields of expertise include general adult, adolescent and pediatric orthopedics as well as degenerative and rheumatic conditions of the musculoskeletal system, fracture care, arthroscopy, total joint replacement and foot and ankle surgery.

Dr. David R. Rice, a 1994 graduate of the University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine, has been elected president of the school's Dental Alumni Association for 2001. He practices in East Amherst.

Dr. Charles A. Matlach, a member of the Class of 1976, is the president-elect. He practices in the Town of Boston. Dr. Richard J. Lynch, who graduated in 1983 and has an office in Williamsville, has been named treasurer.

Benjamin C. Mancuso III was re-elected president at the Batavia Club's 119th annual meeting.

The son of a former club president will serve with the vice president, Roger F. Christiano; secretary, William R. Fritts Jr.; and treasurer, Paul J. Battaglia.

Four directors were named to three-year terms. They are Mancuso, Christiano, Karl W. Buchholtz and Christopher C. White.

Kevin Guest House, the nation's first hospital hospitality house, at 782 Ellicott St., has named the following to its board of directors: president, Robert J. Sliwa of Regency Sales; vice president, Glenn Pawloski, Kideney Architects; recording secretary, Scott Laubisch, Kaleida Health; corresponding secretary, Alan Donatelli, Phillips, Lytle, Hitchcock, Blaine & Huber; and treasurer, Darlene Spychala, M&T Bank.

Appointed directors were Michael Buckowski, Buffalo Bisons; John Connolly, The Buffalo News; Joan Crouse, Hilbert College; Timothy Hourihan, Stovroff Realty; William Jebb, self-employed attorney; Melanie Griffis, Erie County Medical Center Healthcare Network; Marlisa Kalb, self-employed; Steven Knocklein, First Niagara Bank; James Murphy Jr., Jim Murphy Pontiac; John Potter, self-employed consultant; Steven Schutte, self-employed; Thomas Surwill, Mosaic Marketing; Karen Synor, Roswell Park Cancer Institute; and Lisa Wishman, Merchants Insurance Group.

There are no comments - be the first to comment