Share this article

print logo


Winston Cup

Event: NAPA Autocare 500

Site: Martinsville, Va.

Schedule: Friday, first-round qualifying (ESPN2, 3 p.m.); Saturday, second-round qualifying, 11:15 a.m.; Sunday, race (ESPN, 1 p.m.)

Track: Martinsville Speedway (oval, .526 miles, 12 degrees banking in turns).

Race Distance: 500 laps, 263 miles.

Last year: Ricky Rudd won, giving him victories in 16 consecutive seasons, a modern-era record. Rudd, a three-time Martinsville winner, beat Jeff Gordon by .533 seconds. Mark Martin finished third.

Last week: Martin won the MBNA Gold 400 in Dover, Del., for the third straight year. The victory ended his 25-race drought, since the second event of the season in Rockingham, N.C.

Fast Facts: Only five times in the 47-year history of the race has the winner started on the pole. . . . Tony Stewart has 19 consecutive top-15 finishes. . . . Darrell Waltrip came from 20th position to win the 1988 race. No race winner has come from deeper in the field.

Next race: UAW-GM Quality 500, Oct. 10, Concord, N.C.


Last week: Dale Earnhardt Jr. crashed into Matt Kenseth, and Casey Atwood made the best of it, winning the wreck-filled MBNA Gold 200 in Dover, Del. Earnhardt picked up 10 valuable points in the battle for the series title with Kenseth. Earnhardt leads by 113 points with five of 32 races remaining.

Next race: All Pro 300, Oct. 9, Concord, N.C.


Last week: Paul Tracy finished 13.733 seconds -- nearly a quarter of a lap -- ahead of teammate Dario Franchitti to win the Texaco Grand Prix of Houston. Franchitti, who went into the 100-lap race trailing Juan Montoya by 29 points, is now just 13 behind with two races remaining.

Next race: Honda Indy, Oct. 17, Surfers Paradise, Australia.

Formula One

Last week: Johnny Herbert earned his third Formula One victory. He won the European Grand Prix, which began with a crash and ended with many top drivers out of the race. Defending champion Mika Hakkinen finished fifth, taking a 2-point lead over Eddie Irvine in the standings.

Next race: Malaysian Grand Prix, Oct. 17, Kuala Lumpur.

Indy Racing League

Last week: Sam Schmidt slipped passed Kenny Brack with three laps remaining and went on to win his first Indy Racing League title, the 500, on his hometown track. Greg Ray, who had won three of four previous races, including two straight, retained his lead in the standings by 13 points over Brack.

Next race: Lone Star 500, Oct. 17, Fort Worth, Texas.
Compiled by the Associated Press

There are no comments - be the first to comment