Share this article

print logo


Team Lancaster, a group of local NHRA drag racers representing Lancaster Motorsports Park, will travel to US 13 Dragway in Delmar, Del., to challenge 19 teams in the annual NHRA Division I Sears Craftsman Bracket ET Championship Finals.

Competition will begin with time trials Sept. 30 and Oct. 1, followed by the special Race of Champions in which members from each team will compete.

Race eliminations will be held Oct. 2 with Sunday serving as the rain date.

"My drag racers are wonderful," said Team Lancaster captain Barb Owczarczak. "We're hoping for the best."

Drivers representing LMP in the Super class at Delmar are: Ken Staschak, Joe Przepasniak, Greg Kerl, Andy Mikula, Mike Owczarczak, Bill Pitz, Jon Jablonski, Sam Christian, Rick Thurnherr, Marco Weller, Glenn Hughes, Jim Green, Dave Kulik Jr., Sharon Hughes, Jerry Ryan, Jeff Fisher, Bruce Matthews and Tom Young.

Heavy class drivers are: Gary Kerl, Mark Przybylski, Karl Stoll, Kevin Maras, Dave Musilowski, Jr., Ken Anderson, Joe Passero, Jim Kalinowski, Louie, Martina, Mike Mazuto and Greg Speck.

Street drivers are: Jennifer Przybylski, Warren Bush and Jim Stoneman. Bikes/Sled riders are: Tim Davis, Joshua Seyler, Pat Vaughan, Steve Skrobacz, Alan Fletcher and Fred Gayles.

Staschak, Gary Kerl, Davis and Jennifer Przybylski will represent LMP in the Race of Champions.

Preve clinches championship

When Grand Island's Claudia Preve won the Pick-up truck drag class last Friday at LMP, she also clinched the championship, the first for the new class.

"It's exciting to be the first truck champion at Lancaster," said Preve.

Preve, who also became the first woman to win an LMP drag class championship when she won the Street title in 1991, won two of the five pick-up truck class races held in 1999 at LMP. She drove a Chevrolet S-10 truck this season.

Sprints return to fair

After a three-year absence, winged Sprint Cars will return to the one-mile New York State Fairgrounds oval in Syracuse as part of Super DIRT Week XXVIII in October.

"We've received a lot of calls about bringing Sprint Cars back to Syracuse," DIRT president Glenn Donnelly said. "We're experimenting with one short race this time and hopefully a bigger Sprint Car program will develop in the coming years."

Six selected drivers from both the Empire Super Sprints (ESS) and the United Racing Club (URC) will square off in a 10-lap shootout race with a $6,000 purse on the line for the Oct. 9 event.

In 2000, the ESS/URC race is expected to grow to a 20-lap invitational with the possibility of a summer-long qualifying series to take place leading up to Super DIRT Week.

Pit stops

The Gasport Speedway champions for 1999 are Greg Panunte, Sportsman; Ken Sargent, Pro-Stocks; Adam Ferri, Pro-Modified and Street Stocks; Brian Lawrie, Mini-Stocks and Leah Havill, Women Are Racing. Panunte had four feature wins, Sargent, four; Ferri, 12 in Pro-Modified and seven in Street Stock; Lawrie, one, and Havill, four. Gasport will host its awards banquet Dec. 4 at the Ukrainian Center in Welland. Call 905-834-4797 for tickets. . . . Chuck Hossfeld not only won the Modified championship at LMP but did likewise at the Spencer Speedway in Williamson. Hossfeld had six wins at Spencer driving the Team Zacharias entry. He drove the Prime Tyme Motorsports car at LMP. Other Spencer champions were Jon Burroughs, Grand American Modifieds, and Dean De Marree, Street Stocks. . . . Little Valley Speedway will run the Empire Super Sprints Saturday at 6 p.m. The Super Stocks, Street Stocks and school buses join the program. . . . The 22nd annual New York State Grassdrags snowmobile championships will be held at Fireman's Field, Two Rod Road, Marilla on Sunday at 10 a.m.

Super Pro
Ken Staschak ....90
Joe Przespasniak....84
Christian-Lilienthal ....83
Mike Owczarczak ....81
Glenn Hughes ....77
Galuzzi-Antonicelli ....76
Thurnherr I-Thurnherr II....75
Fred Ferguson ....72
Bob Runge ....68
Bill Bigham ....68

There are no comments - be the first to comment