Share this article

print logo


- Kathleen Burke of Buffalo has been named coordinator of Park School Middle School.

Erik P. Korvne, head of Park School, said Mrs. Burke has nearly 30 years of private-school experience. She was a teacher at St. Andrew's Country Day School and Buffalo Seminary and, most recently, was dean of the seventh and eighth grades at Elmwood-Franklin School.

At Park School, Mrs. Burke will lead 100 students and 10 faculty members of the Middle School.

Park School, founded in 1912, is an independent coeducational day school offering a college preparatory curriculum, prekindergarten through grade 12, on a 40-acre campus at 4625 Harlem Road, Snyder.

- J. Milton Zeckhauser of Buffalo, a retiree of Prudential Securities Inc., has received a Prudential Community Champions Shining Star Award of $1,000 to benefit the Grassroots Gardens of Buffalo, a community gardening program in Western New York that works with the public and private sectors to establish well-designed vegetable and flower gardens in low-income neighborhoods.

Zeckhauser, who is serving as acting executive director of the local organization, drove more than 700 miles during 1998 to inspect gardens, pick up and deliver supplies and attend various meetings.

Prudential recognized 795 employees and retirees who excelled in volunteer and service programs with grants for community-oriented projects.

- The Western New York Chapter of the Women's Bar Association of New York State will honor three women at the chapter's annual installation dinner Sept. 16 in Rich Renaissance Niagara.

Joy C. Trotter of the City of Buffalo Department of Law will be installed as president, and Lana Benatovich will be honored as the recipient of the organization's 1999 President's Award. Carol Condon will be honored with the 1999 Achievement Award.

Other officers to be installed include the president-elect, Deborah J. Muhlbauer; treasurer, Jill K. Bond; deputy treasurer, Suzanne K. Taylor; and secretary, Monica J. Eagan. State delegates include Sheri L. Keeling, Melinda R. Saran and Ms. Muhlbauer. Local directors are Holly Baum, Melissa Hancock Nickson and Shari Jo Reich.

- Donald Dussing Jr. of Amherst, president of the Buffalo Division of M&T Bank and chairman of the board of the Greater Niagara Frontier Council of the Boy Scouts of America, was honored as Scouter Citizen of the Year last week at the council's 12th annual golf classic, held at Wanakah Country Club.

He was honored for his personal involvement in Scouting and for his contributions to the community. He also serves on the board of the Presbyterian Homes of Western New York.

A graduate of the University at Buffalo, Rutgers University and Harvard University, Dussing is an Eagle Scout and has been awarded the Boy Scout's God and Country Award and the Order of the Arrow Vigil Honor.

- Jack K. Manganello, president and chief executive officer of the Niagara Frontier Vocational Rehabilitation Center, has been appointed to a three-year term on the board of directors of the Taste of Buffalo. He also serves as president of the Developmental Disabilities Alliance of Western New York.

- David Livingston, a teacher at Errick Road Elementary School in Wheatfield, recently participated in the National Aeronautics and Space Administration educational workshops at John C. Stennis Space Center in Mississippi.

He was one of 27 teachers chosen to participate in the two-week honors program. The teachers were chosen from hundreds of applicants from across the United States and from U.S. State Department schools in Europe, the Middle East and the Far East.

- Joseph A. D'Amato will be installed as president of the St. John Vianney Senior Citizens for 1999-2000 at a luncheon Thursday sep9 at LaGalleria Restaurant in Orchard Park.

Other officers to be installed by Monsignor William J. Gallagher include the vice president, William Zimmerman; secretary, Eleanore Cogley; treasurer, Mary Monaco, and tour directors, Mary Tebo and Addie Lowman.

- Dr. Richard Laurence Collins of Clarence has been elected president of the University at Buffalo Medical Alumni Association for 1999-2000.

Other officers include the vice president, Dr. John J. Bodkin II of M.D., East Amherst, and treasurer, Dr. Stephen B. Pllack of Williamsville.

Collins is a primary-care internist with Buffalo Medical Group and a clinical assistant professor of medicine at UB. He graduated from the School of Medicine and Biomedical Science in 1983 and formerly was medical director of the Northwest Buffalo Community Health Care Center and a staff physician with Health Care Plan.

He is a member of the American College of Physicians and Phi Beta Kappa. He is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine.

- Air Force Senior Airman Tammy L. Hammond, a 1986 graduate of Olean Senior High School, has been deployed to Ahmed Al-Jaber Air Base in Kuwait as a member of the 332nd Air Expeditionary Group (Provisional) in support of Operation Southern Watch.

Operation Southern Watch is part of a coalition force that conducts numerous flying missions to ensure Iraq complies with United Nations Security Council resolutions. The forces assist in monitoring the no-fly and no-drive zones to prohibit Iraqi military flights and ground troop movements in the southern half of Iraq.

Hammond is a band administrator normally assigned to the Air Force Band of the Pacific at Elmendorf Air Force Base in Anchorage, Alaska. Her mother and stepfather are Linda L. and Don L. O'Brien of Olean.

- Christopher T. Wright, a student at Canisius College, has graduated from the Army Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) Camp Challenge at Fort Knox, Ky.

Camp Challenge is designed to give college juniors and sophomores who have not taken ROTC courses the chance to enter the program. Cadets receive training in fundamental military skills, basic rifle marksmanship, drill and ceremonies, small-arms tactics and communications.

Wright, a 1997 graduate of Canisius High School, is the son of J.W. and Marilyn Wright of Williamsville.

Suzanne Miller, Ph.D., of Snyder, associate dean in the University at Buffalo Graduate School of Education, has been elected to serve a four-year term on the executive committee of the Conference on English Education.

An associate professor in the Department of Learning and Instruction, she joined the UB faculty in 1994.

There are no comments - be the first to comment