Share this article

print logo


Exiled Nigerian writer Wole Soyinka has been given Britain's Writers' Guild lifetime achievement award.

Soyinka, a 1986 Nobel literature laureate, fled from Nigeria two years ago after learning that authorities there planned to arrest him for speaking against their military rule.

He has published some 20 volumes of fiction and poetry.

Other 1996 Writers' Guild winners announced Sunday included Emma Thompson, who reprised her Oscar for Best Screenplay for her adaptation of Jane Austen's "Sense and Sensibility," and Alan Ayckbourn, who won Best West End Play for "Communicating Doors."

Jane Rogers won Best Fiction Book for "Promised Lands," which beat out a list of nominees including Doris Lessing.

The Writers' Guild represents professional British writers in virtually all fields, including publishing, film, television, theater and children's writing.

There are no comments - be the first to comment