Share this article

print logo


Dr. Debbie L. Korwin of Grand Island, staff physician for the University Health Service in the University at Buffalo Division of Student Affairs, recently won first place for a poster display at the 68th annual meeting of the American College Health Association in San Antonio, Texas.

Dr. Korwin, a clinical assistant professor of medicine who is in charge of the health service's ear clinic, won a blue ribbon for the content and quality of her poster display, "Use of Tympanometry and Audiometry in Managing Ear Disorders." The display was based on case histories of students treated at the ear clinic. . . .

Michele Pritchard of Troop 867 of Kenmore has won the Gold Award, Girl Scouting's highest honor. Michele developed an environmental awareness program for Brownie and Junior Scout troops, then organized a tree-planting program, planting 100 trees in the Kenmore area.

Arthur S. Vallone has been re-elected to a three-year term as president of Local 309 of the National Postal Mail Handlers Union. Robert J. Fredenburg was re-elected vice president of the local.

Other officers include: treasurer, Roger Olsen; recording secretary, Gail Graham, and New York State representative, Kevin Barker. Local 309 covers 14 cities throughout New York and Erie, Pa.

Eighteen children between the ages of 4 and 12 have been named winners in the "Give Me Breathing Room" poster contest sponsored by Roswell Park Cancer Institute, the American Cancer Society, Independent Health, the Public Employees Federation and WKBW-TV.

Winners in the prekindergarten and kindergarten category included: first place, Christie Campbell, Tonawanda; second (tie) Erin Hewitt, School 64, Buffalo, and Aubrey Smith, Roswell Park Day Care Center, and third (tie) Caitlin Bell, St. Leo's School, Amherst; Bianca Johnson, Roswell Park Day Care Center, and Calvin Coleman and Amy Reed, St. Hyacinth's Head Start, Lackawanna.

Winners in the Grades 1-3 included: first, Mary Hills, Pine Valley Central School, South Dayton; second (tie) Thomas Panasiewicz, Union East Elementary School, Cheektowaga, and Kenny Campbell, Holmes Elementary School, Town of Tonawanda, and third (tie) Lisa Dexheimer, St. Mark's Lutheran School, North Tonawanda, Katherine Murray, G.J. Mann School, Niagara Falls, and Michael Turecki, Gilmore School, North Tonawanda.

Winners in Grades 4-6 included: first, Julie Barends, Lewiston-Porter Middle School; second (tie) Matthew Dexheimer, St. Mark's Lutheran School, North Tonawanda, and Kim Shanahan, Gilmore School, North Tonawanda, and third (tie) Gretchen Dexheimer, St. Mark's Lutheran School, North Tonawanda, Chris Emerling, Springville Elementary School, and Patrick Present, Bemus Point Elementary School.

The contest winners and their families were honored at a recent pizza party.

Jennifer Marzolf of Holland Central School has been named winner of the 1990 Good Citizen Award of the William Mills Chapter, National Society of Daughters of the American Revolution, said Mrs. Richard E. Lang of Hamburg, chairwoman of the chapter's Good Citizen Committee.

Mrs. Long said Jennifer "fulfilled the qualities of leadership, dependability, service and patriotism to win the award." She received a $50 savings bond, pin and certificate for her essay, "Our American Heritage and My Responsibility to Preserve It."

Jennifer and other award winners were honored Nov. 25 by the Katharine Pratt Horton, Buffalo Chapter, and the Mills Chapter at the chapter house, 477 Delaware Ave.

The other students honored included: Lara Antkowiak of Nardin Academy; Jeffrey Bower of Akron Central; Marc Brown of Williamsville North; Sheri Holt of Sweet Home Senior High; Stacie Minnier of Villa Maria Academy, and Mike Weidrich of the Buffalo Academy for Visual and Performing Arts.

Robert C. Hayman and Nancy S. Warner recently received the 1990 Endowment Developmental Awards of the Foundation for Jewish Philanthrophies.

Hayman, a retired executive vice president of the Rand Capital Corp. and a member of Temple Beth Zion, was honored for his 25 years of service to the Foundation. He was first elected to the board of trustees in 1965 and served as its president in 1970 and 1971. A Kenmore resident, he also served as president of the Jewish Center, the Jewish Federation and Westwood Country Club.

Mrs. Warner was honored for her many contributions to the Foundation as a trustee since 1984. She has been the Foundation's treasurer and chairwoman of the Distributions Committee. She also served as president of the Camp Lakeland Association, the Visiting Nurses Association and the Public Education Association and has been active in many other organizations.

Miss Teen Buffalo, Tracey B. Wilson of Orchard Park, will compete for the national title during the National Cities Pageant Jan. 4-9 at Disney World in Orlando, Fla.

A sophomore at Brockport State College, Miss Wilson, daughter of James and Meredith Wilson, won the local title Saturday at Mount St. Mary's High School, Town of Tonawanda.

Carol E. Gettings of Williamsville recently was elected vice president of resource development for the Mental Health Association in New York State at the organization's annual meeting in Tarrytown. She is the executive director of the Amherst Y-U, a substance-abuse prevention agency.

Victor C. Silverstein has been re-elected president of the Westwood Country Club in Amherst. Other officers include vice president, E. Jay Stopper; treasurer, Martin E. Trossman, and secretary, Stephen M. Newman.

Molly Theal of Alden is this year's regional winner of Hills Department Stores' annual "Just Say No" essay contest. She will receive a $500 savings bond for her essay on why it is important to say no to drugs.

One of her winning lines was, "Drugs are bad, and that's a rule." She is one of 11 regional winners.

There are no comments - be the first to comment