Share this article

print logo


Mayor Griffin will be among Buffalo residents and 14 corporations who will receive Good Neighbor Awards Monday when Buffalo Neighborhood Housing Services holds its annual meeting and reception.

Mayor Griffin and Council Majority Leader Eugene M. Fahey will be guest speakers at the event to be held in the lobby of the Ellicott Square Building from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.

The awards are given for supporters of the organization's programs and for "efforts to improve the quality of life in Buffalo and prevent further homelessness."

City Comptroller Joel A. Giambra and the State Division of Housing and Community Renewal will be among those also honored.

Individual recipients and the neighborhoods they represent are: George Bandle, Black Rock-Riverside; Sister Mary Augusta Kaiser, Broadway-Fillmore; Edward Saunders, Kensington-Bailey and William Linder, West Side.

In addition, the Ramona Street Block Club will receive the award for South Buffalo.

The corporations receiving the awards are: Aetna Life & Casualty, Citibank, Dime Savings Bank, Goldome, Integrated Waste Systems, Key Bank, Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co., Manufacturers & Traders Trust Co., Marine Midland Bank, National School Bus Service, Neighborhood Reinvestment Corp., Norstar Bank and the Ten Ellicott Square Court Corp.

There are no comments - be the first to comment